Skip to main content
Undergraduate Student Support
Search this Guide
Undergraduate Student Support: Referencing
This library guide strives to provide e-support for undergraduate students at the Potchefstroom Campus.
Explore your Libraries
Writing an Assignment
Evaluation of Information
Services @ Potch
Tarentaal Training Room
Why reference sources?
Be a Responsible Scholar: In-Text Referencing
Reference Style of the Faculty of Law (NWU Potchefstroom Campus)
Prescribed Reference Style of the Faculty of Law, North-West University (Potchefstroom Campus)
Postgraduate MS Word Template
This service provides a MS Word Postgraduate template for creating a Dissertation/Mini Dissertation/Thesis.
When do I reference?
Good question! We reference:
as we write - in the
body of the essay
(in-text referencing) and
of our essay or paper - in the
source or reference list
Tips for referencing
Struggling to reference your sources? Always consider these points.
Keep the Following in Mind...
A source list is an alphabetical list according to the first author's surname.
Don't try to
by including references to sources you did not consult.
: usually compiled in postgraduate theses or dissertations.
A bibliography (postgraduate) refers to
that contributed to your insight.
For undergraduate students a
source list or reference list
All your text references should be supported by a source list at the end of the assignment.
The source list contains full bibliographic details of the sources you referred to in the text.
The reader of the assignment should be able to
the sources listed.
Leave one line open between references.
NWU Referencing Guide
Guidelines for bibliography and bibliographic references. This document includes the NWU Harvard style, the APA style and the Reference style of the Faculty of Law.
Riglyne vir bibliografie en bibliografiese verwysings. Die dokument sluit in die NWU Harvard styl, APA styl en die Verwysingstyl van die Fakulteit Regte
Evaluation of Information >>
Feb 20, 2018 12:06 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
online databases searches
online journal databases