Skip to main content

Theology & Ancient Languages (PC): Articles/Journals

Welcome to the Library guide for Theology. Here you will find a OneStop service to assist you in your studies or research at the Faculty of Theology, Potchefstroom Campus of the North-West University.

Find a specific article

  1. Search in the AtoZ list of electronic journals to determine whether it is available electronically.
  2. Search in the catalogue to determine whether it is available in printed format.
  3. Do an interlibrary loan.  (Click ON SACat, do not click in the box.) 
    (Available for staff and postgraduates.)

Find your username and password for interlibrary loans.

Contact the Library for assistance with interlibrary loans.

Find information on a specific subject - EbscoHost

Open Access Journals

South African scholarly journals available through open access (full text) can be found in the Directory of Open Access Journals.  Currently these journals for Theology and Classics are included:  AkroterionHTS theological studies/teologiese studiesIn die Skriflig/In luce VerbiKoers: bulletin for Christian scholarship/bulletin vir Christelike wetenskapNederduitse Gereformeerde teologiese tydskrifOld Testament essaysScripturaVerbum et Ecclesia.

Journals (and articles) available through SAGE journals.

Database access

Username:  Surname
Password:  University number OR identity number (ID) OR passport number

More information about passwords
Contact hester.lombard@nwu.ac.za if you experience problems with access.
Always include your university number in communication.

Google Scholar Search

Use the advanced search option to search for more specific results in GoogleScholar.  When you access GoogleScholar from the Library's webpage, you will get more results in full text than going to the webpage directly.  Search for results not available in full text on the Library's databases. 

South African databases

Other databases

Additional resources