It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing: Journal articles / Databases
Welcome to the Library Guide for Nursing at the NWU. This is a one-stop service to assist you in finding information for your studies or research.
Select the following databases on EBSCOhost: Academic Search Premier AHFS Consumer Medication Information CINAHL E-Journals Health Source - Consumer Ed Health Source - Nursing Academic Ed MasterFile Premier MEDLINE PsycARTICLES [if you search for psychological info] PsycINFO [if you search for psychological info] SocINDEX
ScienceDirect is a leading full text scientific database offering articles/chapters from more than 2 500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11 000 books. There are currently more than 9,5 million articles/chapters in a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0,5 million additions per year. How to search on ScienceDirect.
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.
The most comprehensive searchable collection of full text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa, available online. How to search on African Journals.
Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP) covers indexed articles from more than 900 South African periodicals. Specialist periodicals are indexed fully whereas general and popular periodicals are indexed selectively. This database is compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies preprint, repositories, universities, and other scholarly organisations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. How to search on Google Scholar.
If Google Scholar gives you and error message please use this link Google Scholar. This link will not indicate which of the sources are owned by the NWU, but you will be able to conduct a search.
SACat reflects the collection of libraries in Southern Africa and contains bibliographic information referring to books, periodicals, audiovisual items and other information material.
The Scientific & Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase is a collection of 20 000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics.
JSTOR offers a high-quality interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1 000 leading academic journals across the humanities social sciences and sciences as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
