South Africa E-learning Platform via Snapplify - Follow the instructions in this PDF document.
For a complete list of all our databases click here.
A-Z Title List of Electronic Journals
The NWU library subscribes to thousands of journals. If you want to search for a specific journal the A-Z list will help you to find it. The A-Z list is also a great way to explore all the journals on a specific subject. e.g. Typing “Psychology” in the search field will give you all the journals with the word “Psychology” in the title. You can also browse the journals alphabetically.
Most journal articles are available electronically especially articles published after 2000. These articles can be found in online databases to which the library subscribes.
These articles have several advantages.
NWU Library databases can be accessed off-campus, but the web page will ask for a password. The details you have to provide are your surname and Id number. Accessing Google Scholar through the library page will also help to link various articles in the databases to your Google Scholar results.
Note: Sometimes publishers limit access to the newest articles. This “embargo” means the articles will only be available after 3, 6 or 12 months. Usually it is 12 months.
SAePublications
The most comprehensive searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals in the world focusses on making journals published in South Africa available online
SAMedia
S.A. Media is one of the most comprehensive press cutting services offering you access to a database consisting of more than 3 million newspaper reports and periodical articles which have been indexed on computer since 1978
ISAP
Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP) covers indexed articles from more than 900 South African periodicals. Specialist periodicals are indexed fully whereas general and popular periodicals are indexed selectively. This database is compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa.
The following databases are widely used in the field of Psychology.
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES from the American Psychological Association (APA) is a definitive source of full-text peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150 000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF) and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
PsycINFO
The PsycINFO database American Psychological Associations (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles book chapters books and dissertations is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage which spans from 1887 to present includes international material selected from more than 2 400 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2 066 400 records with subject headings from a 19 750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs and full text for 13 947 conference papers.
Academic Search Premier
Contains indexing for more than 8 100 journals with full text for nearly 4 500 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals and searchable cited references are provided for 1 000 titles. Academic Search Premier contains full text coverage in biology chemistry engineering physics psychology religion & theology..
EbscoHost
EBSCOhost databases are the most-used premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide representing millions of end-users
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering articles/chapters from more than 2 500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11 000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
Emerald
Contains over 180 titles in the fields of management information science and engineering.
JSTOR
JSTOR offers a high-quality interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities social sciences and sciences as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
ERIC
ERIC is an index for all education topics. ERIC indexes Journal Articles in 1 000 education-related journals. Abstracts are provided. Some full text journal articles are available. ERIC indexes ERIC Documents. These are education materials not published elsewhere such as curriculum guides various research reports and conference papers.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Medline
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine nursing dentistry veterinary medicine the health care system pre-clinical sciences and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree tree hierarchy subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4 800 current biomedical journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1 300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4 700 brand names.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making
CINAHL with Fulltext
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals providing full text for nearly 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
Africa-Wide Information
Africa-Wide is a multidisciplinary database and with access to over 2.4 million records is unique in its extensive coverage on the subject of Africa including information written on and about Africa and offering access to African research.
MasterFILE Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1 750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164 424 primary source documents as well as an Image Collection of over 453 000 photos maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.