NWU LIS Staff Gain Valuable Insights at "Spring into Knowledge with Ebsco" Event
On 4 September 2024, staff members from Information Resources had the privilege of attending the "Spring into Knowledge with Ebsco" session in Johannesburg. This event brought together a wide range of vendors affiliated with Ebsco, providing valuable insights into subscription services, eBooks, Open Access resources, and other academic resources. It served as a platform for networking with key industry players and allowed participants to familiarize themselves with the latest innovations and product offerings in academic publishing.
The event was structured to provide focused, informative sessions from various vendors and publishers, including CABI, Taylor & Francis, JoVE, PressReader, Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press, Wiley, IEEE (presented by Ebsco staff), and GOBI Library Solutions. Each vendor highlighted their new and advanced offerings, while Ebsco staff presented on Ebsco Subscription Services and GOBI Library Solutions. The event's key highlights included updates on subscription services, eBook collections, Open Access resources, and digital archives.
Carine Basson / Moses Moseza / Wilna Fick
Feedback from attending staff provided valuable insights into the event's impact. For example, Carine Basson emphasized the importance of meeting in person with vendors she usually communicates with via email. She appreciated the short but informative sessions that introduced new products, adding that these interactions strengthened relationships with suppliers and enhanced her understanding of Ebsco's expanded services.
Wilna Fick noted the event's value as a networking opportunity, allowing her to connect with industry stakeholders and colleagues from other institutions such as UP and UNISA. She particularly highlighted Wiley's Advanced E-Book Collections, Digital Archives, and the FASEB Conferences on Demand, considering them beneficial for NWU Library and Information Services (LIS). The exchange of experiences and ideas about various products added significant value to her role and understanding of the available offerings.
Moses found the event extremely useful in helping him deepen his understanding of the field. Connecting with fellow professionals and former colleagues provided further enrichment, and he expressed gratitude to his supervisor, Carine, for recommending such insightful events.
The Spring into Knowledge with Ebsco session in Johannesburg was a resounding success for the attending staff from Information Resources. It provided valuable networking opportunities, increased awareness of cutting-edge products and services, and opened channels for future collaborations. Staff members came away with enhanced knowledge of the evolving landscape of academic publishing, particularly in subscription services, eBook collections, and Open Access resources. This event facilitated connections with vendors and colleagues and equipped attendees with the tools to support their respective roles within NWU LIS better.
NWU LIS Staff Gain Valuable Insights at "Spring into Knowledge with Ebsco" Event
On 4 September 2024, staff members from Information Resources had the privilege of attending the "Spring into Knowledge with Ebsco" session in Johannesburg. This event brought together a wide range of vendors affiliated with Ebsco, providing valuable insights into subscription services, eBooks, Open Access resources, and other academic resources. It served as a platform for networking with key industry players and allowed participants to familiarize themselves with the latest innovations and product offerings in academic publishing.
The event was structured to provide focused, informative sessions from various vendors and publishers, including CABI, Taylor & Francis, JoVE, PressReader, Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press, Wiley, IEEE (presented by Ebsco staff), and GOBI Library Solutions. Each vendor highlighted their new and advanced offerings, while Ebsco staff presented on Ebsco Subscription Services and GOBI Library Solutions. The event's key highlights included updates on subscription services, eBook collections, Open Access resources, and digital archives.
Feedback from attending staff provided valuable insights into the event's impact. For example, Carine Basson emphasized the importance of meeting in person with vendors she usually communicates with via email. She appreciated the short but informative sessions that introduced new products, adding that these interactions strengthened relationships with suppliers and enhanced her understanding of Ebsco's expanded services.
Wilna Fick noted the event's value as a networking opportunity, allowing her to connect with industry stakeholders and colleagues from other institutions such as UP and UNISA. She particularly highlighted Wiley's Advanced E-Book Collections, Digital Archives, and the FASEB Conferences on Demand, considering them beneficial for NWU Library and Information Services (LIS). The exchange of experiences and ideas about various products added significant value to her role and understanding of the available offerings.
Moses found the event extremely useful in helping him deepen his understanding of the field. Connecting with fellow professionals and former colleagues provided further enrichment, and he expressed gratitude to his supervisor, Carine, for recommending such insightful events.
The Spring into Knowledge with Ebsco session in Johannesburg was a resounding success for the attending staff from Information Resources. It provided valuable networking opportunities, increased awareness of cutting-edge products and services, and opened channels for future collaborations. Staff members came away with enhanced knowledge of the evolving landscape of academic publishing, particularly in subscription services, eBook collections, and Open Access resources. This event facilitated connections with vendors and colleagues and equipped attendees with the tools to support their respective roles within NWU LIS better.