This list includes links to subscription databases 
, open-access resources, eReference works, software, library collections, and selected internet sources. Use the filters to sort resources by subject, type, or provider. Curated resource lists are also available in the column on the left for convenience.
The following resources are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
CASKAI, launched by China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI), is an AI-powered research tool that combines the Huazhi Large Model with CNKI’s vast literature database. It helps users efficiently locate papers, understand key ideas, generate high-quality summaries, and access Chinese scholarly knowledge globally, streamlining research, writing, and translation tasks.
CNKI is the largest Chinese academic content provider in the world, dedicated to the mass digitisation of China's knowledge resources and to creating a platform for global dissemination and value-added services.
The Journal Quality Check Tool (JQCT) helps postgraduates and researchers select credible, accredited, and impactful journals while supporting the whole publishing process from manuscript preparation to post-publication visibility. It integrates key criteria such as scope, indexing, accreditation, SDG alignment, and open access compliance to enable informed publishing decisions.
The tool also guides data management, including depositing datasets and identifying journals with waived or discounted APCs. By using it, researchers can reduce predatory publishing risks, enhance the visibility and impact of their work, and align their practices with institutional standards and responsible open science principles.
Search for the ORCID profiles of NWU Researchers.
Welcome to the Open Journal Systems (OJS) request form. This form is intended for NWU staff who wish to submit a request for the creation of a new open-access journal hosted on OJS. By completing this form, you will be able to provide the necessary details for initiating the setup of your journal, including title, scope, editorial board information, and other essential components. Please make sure all sections are completed accurately so we can process your request smoothly and efficiently. If you have any questions or need assistance, feel free to reach out to the ROSS team.
After you complete the initial fields, the ROSS team will schedule a Microsoft Teams meeting to assist in populating the remaining fields.
Journal examples: https://journals.nwu.ac.za/index.php/sajrsper and https://journals.nwu.ac.za/index.php/jcpr
The most frequently-used resources
LexisNexis provides access to SA legislation, cases, and commentary. Lexis+ SA sets a new standard by integrating AI and machine learning, delivering unparalleled precision and speed. The platform streamlines the search process, offering lightning-fast access to vast legal databases with the assurance of trusted, reliable sources. It also provides intuitive case law organisation and powerful analytical tools, ensuring you can navigate the complexities of legal research with ease and confidence.
OpenAlex is a free, open catalogue of the global research ecosystem, indexing millions of scholarly works, authors, institutions, and journals. It provides comprehensive metadata, citation links, and metrics for exploring research impact and connections. Ideal for discovering, analysing, and integrating academic data. You can watch this video to learn more about OpenAlex.
