Health Sciences

Step 1: Topic analysis

• Theme, subject, point or focus of the assignment
• Identify and formulate research question (onion peel - layers)
  • Understand the question (point/focus)
  • What do you know?
  • What do you need to know?
• What is the scope or extent of paper? (Lecturer's instructions)
• Identify theme words (words or concepts that reflect the key theme of assignment)
• Identify action words (verbs in the topic that tells you what to do e.g. analyze, evaluate, examine, discuss, describe, formulate...
• Identify context words (the specific context to which your paper is limited)
• Identify exclusion words (ideas that should not be included in the paper)
• Identify specification words (ideas that should be included).

The success of your literature search will depend on how well you defined your topic (i.e. identified synonyms and alternative spelling of words).

Search Strategy

A search query consists of all the keywords you identified during the topic analysis of your assignment/paper's title.

e.g. if you are a student in Communication Studies and the topic of your assignment/paper is "The role that political propaganda plays in mass media"

you might construct your search query along any one of the following lines:

1. (mass media OR broadcasting OR radio OR television) AND propaganda AND (politic* OR government*)
2. propaganda AND ("freedom of speech" OR "freedom of the press" OR "right to know") AND (media OR broadcast* OR journalis*)
3. role AND propaganda AND "mass media"

Step 2: Do the required (prescribed) reading

Basic reading:

• Prescribed: Sources that must be used
• Recommended: Additional sources to consult

This gives a better idea:

• of how to plan the structure of the essay
• of gaps to fill with supplementary information sources

How to recognise a Peer-reviewed Journal Article on the Internet

Not sure whether it is a scholarly article?  Look out for the following criteria:

• Does the periodical title focus on a specific field or subject?
• Can you find a clear list of author(s), their degrees, credentials, affiliations, titles etc.?
• Has the article been cited in a subject-specific online journal database?
• Is the article longer than 4-5 pages and includes complex content?
• Does the article contain technical language / specialised vocabulary?
• Do you need prior subject knowledge to comprehend the content?
• Does the article have a well defined and specialised title?
• Does it contain tables and charts and a limited number of colour photographs?
• Does it have a non-commercial, formal "look" or is there advertising included?
• Can you find an indication of publication frequency?
• Are you using data or information?  Information will be based on qualitative or quantitative observations, measurements, analysis, interpretations, conclusions, reference to other sources, opinions, authors, literature review etc.?
• Have you checked if there are in-text and bibliographic citations and if they are reliable and true?
• What about the way it was written?  Are there spelling errors, use of inappropriate or inflammatory language etc?
• Do you feel comfortable staking your academic career on the content of the information?
• Can you identify an abstract, introduction, problem statement, background and review of literature,  applicable research methods, discussion of findings, conclusion, footnotes and in-text citations and in-depth bibliography?
• If an article, has it been sponsored by a renowned academic university department or professional and scholarly society or association?
• Does it include original research by a credible author and prior knowledge of the subject or is it based on personal opinion?

Step 3: Identify points to discuss & outline the preliminary framework

It might help to answer the following:

• What do I need to know to write the assignment?
• What do I already know about the topic?
• What main points should be included for discussion?
• What aspects do I need more information on?
• What types of sources do I need for the required information?

What is your search strategy?  Use mind maps, lists etc. to plan your framework.

Step 4: Search for supplementary information (literature review)

• Consider the meaning of each word and the context of the assignment.
• When you clearly know what you need to "get" out of your reading, you are more likely to choose the appropriate text or database.
• Use national and international information.

Library's sources

• Books
  • Textbooks, handbooks, manuals
• Reference works
  • Encyclopedias (Summary or background information)
  • Dictionaries (meanings, definitions, translations)
  • Yearbooks, directories, maps, atlases
• Online databases
  • Periodicals (peer-reviewed journal articles)
  • Newspapers, e.g. SA Media
  • Other:
    • Conference proceedings, diaries, reports, theses and dissertations, government publications

USE:

• A sufficient and inclusive number of information resources
• Quality resources:  relevant, current, accurate, reliable, reputable, authoritative
• Peer-reviewed information

Step 5: Read/Study supplementary information

Preview:  Start with sources that gives the best overview

• Select the right text for your purpose
• Not necessarily the whole text:
  • scan certain areas
  • read others in depth
• Read widely
• Do not rely to heavily on two or three sources
• Question the text

Overview:  Narrow the text down, get a general idea and decide if the article is applicable to your topic.

"In view":  Read the text carefully, in detail to get a proper understanding of the meaning of the text.  Check facts, connect the dots, check for contradictions, understand the author's interpretations and conclusions.

Step 6: Take notes:  Build your discussion of the research topic by collecting information from various sources and integrate them critically into a logical, comprehensive and original paper of your own.

• Follow a questioning approach
• Reflect your understanding
• Report factual information correctly
• Interpret the meaning of the authors' words accurately
• Compare information from different sources
• Formulate your own point of view
• Substantiate your arguments from sources consulted
• Critical appraisal of information, point out gaps and shortcomings
• Include and present your findings & insights in a fresh way
• "Bulking" - up with non-relevant sources indicates a lack of insight
• Do not plagiarise, acknowledge sources - in-text & source list

Step 7: Outline final framework & write draft essay

Components of an assignment:

• Title or cover page
  • title, course code, surname and full initials, student number and date.
• Table of contents
• Introduction
  • What is the essay about (refers to information given to you about the essay)
  • Formulate the intention of the paper by means of a problem statement
  • Problem statement:  What is the problem and how do you intend to solve it?
  • Refer to the title of the assignment
  • Reflect upon the direction your argument will be taking
  • The reader must now have an understanding of the intention and outline of the paper, what the central issue is and how the reader intends to deal with it
  • It states the direction and development of your argument
  • What will you create in your assignment.
  • When the paper is finished, re-read and re-wright the introduction to reflect what you indicated you were going to achieve.
• Body
  • Divided into sub-sections
  • The introduction leads logically to a number of subsections
  • Information is organized in terms of the nature of the assignment (either chronologically or thematically)
  • Line of argument must follow logically through the paper.
  • In the body you build on your case (no gaps, do not digress from topic).
  • Keep it simple, one fact per sentence.
  • Last sentence in a paragraph must be linked to the first sentence in a new paragraph.
  • The argument and evidence is presented in the body of the paper.
  • The argument section is the logical arrangement of information and includes facts and interpretations, states different points of view or theories to prove or disapprove, confirm or bring into question (involves hard and creative thinking).
  • In the evidence section back up every claim.  If you make a statement ask yourself "how do I know this, can I prove it?".  Always give the source.
• Conclusion
  • Last paragraph or part of paper
  • It summarizes your own conclusions or re-states conclusions your argument might have reached.
  • In the conclusion you check if you did all you set out to do in the introduction.
  • Here you evaluate the extent to which you solved the problem, proved or disapproved a hypothesis.
  • It is the final logical step in your paper and reflects your understanding of what has been achieved by the assignment.
  • Never introduce new ideas or concepts in the conclusion.
  • Check if your conclusion is relevant to your essay title (otherwise you have digressed from the original topic.
  • Re-read the introduction and make sure the conclusion includes everything you set out to do or promised in the introduction.
• Source list or bibliography
• Addendum
• Other components: declaration forms, appendices etc.

Before you write:

• Allow yourself enough time
• Make sure of departmental/lecturer's guidelines and requirements
• Include all the required components (introduction, body and conclusion)
• Give attention to technical aspects
• Name and number figures, tables, diagrams
• Use Arabic numbering for headings and subheadings
• Write concisely, correctly and logically

Step 8: Edit & Proofread

• Does the argument make sense?
• Have you constructed a logical argument?
• Is what you are saying supported by evidence?
• Have you referred to the different readings?
• Are you contradicting yourself?
• Should you elaborate more on something?
• Did you leave vital information out?
• Have you veered off the topic?
• Have you identified different points of view?
• Does each paragraph have a purpose that contributes to the argument?
• Does each paragraph link to those before and after it?
• Is their a logical flow to the discussion?
• Have you defined important concepts?
• Did you discuss rather than summarise?

Step 9: Re-write & include required sections

1. Type the title page
2. Include the table of contents
3. Check source list against text of assignment
4. Include the addendum
5. Include other forms such as plagiarism form etc.

Before you submit

• Feedback or comments (peers, Centre for Academic and Professional Language Practice, etc.):
  • on the logic of writing
  • how well the information is arranged
  • how clear the writing is

Step 10: Check source list and submit your assignment

Source list answers: Who, When, What & Where

• A source list is an alphabetical list according to the first author's name
• Don't try to impress by including references to sources you did not consult
• A bibliography is usually compiled for postgraduate theses or dissertations
• A bibliography (postgraduate) refers to all sources that contributed to your insight
• For undergraduate students a source list is sufficient
• All your text references should be supported by a source list at the end of the assignment
• The source list contains full bibliographic details of the sources you referred to in the text
• The reader of the assignment should be able to access the sources listed
• Leave one line open between references