Recommended Databases

African Journals

Featured Full Text
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Featured Full Text
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s):SAePublications

This service allows you to discover articles about African content covering various topics. 

Featured Full Text Open Access
Alternate Name(s):Boloka / North-West University Institutional Research Repository / NWU Institusionele Pakhuis

The NWU institutional repository (IR) is a long-term digital archive containing scholarly or artistic work of enduring value produced by the members of the NWU.

eBooks@NWU

Featured eBooks
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Featured eBooks
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window

Search our eBooks web page for eBooks to which the Library subscribes.

EBSCOhost

Featured eBooks Full Text
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Featured eBooks Full Text
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s):EBSCO / Research Databases

EBSCOhost databases are the most-used premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide representing millions of end-users. 

Emerald Insight Journals

Featured
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Featured
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s):Emerald / Emerald Management Xtra

Contains over 180 titles in the fields of management information science and engineering.

Featured

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies preprint, repositories, universities, and other scholarly organisations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

JSTOR

Featured eBooks Full Text
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Featured eBooks Full Text
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window

JSTOR offers a high-quality interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1 000 leading academic journals across the humanities social sciences and sciences as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Juta

Featured
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Featured
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s):Juta ePublications / Jutastat / Jutastat Online

Juta is South Africa’s leading provider of trusted legal and regulatory information and the largest local publisher of quality student textbooks in the fields of Commerce, Accounting, Communications, Social Science, Health, Education and the Law.

LexisNexis

Featured
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Featured
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s):Butterworths / Butterworhts Live Publish Intranet

LexisNexis provides access to SA legislation, cases and commentary. 

PressReader

Featured Full Text
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Featured Full Text
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window

Subscribers get access to more than 7,000 of the world’s top newspapers and magazines as soon as they’re available on shelves. More about using PressReader on your mobile device.

Sabinet Online

Featured
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Featured
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s):Sabinet Discover
This platform will provide you with a single entry point to seamlessly search Sabinet’s reference products.

ScienceDirect

Featured eBooks Full Text
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Featured eBooks Full Text
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s):ScienceDirect Journals

ScienceDirect is a leading full text scientific database offering articles/chapters from more than 2 500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11 000 books. There are currently more than 9,5 million articles/chapters in a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0,5 million additions per year.

Scopus

Featured
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Featured
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window

Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.

Web of Science

Featured Full Text
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Featured Full Text
  • NWU staff and registered students only This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s):ISI Web of Knowledge, ISI Web of Science

Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. There are databases with a subject focus like Medline, BIOSIS Citation Index, and Zoological Record; databases with a document type focus like Derwent Innovations Index (patents) and Data Citation Index (datasets and data studies); and databases highlighting content from regions around the world. 

Learn more about Web of Science and how to search on this database.

WorldCat Discovery

Featured eBooks Full Text
Featured eBooks Full Text
Alternate Name(s):Library Catalogue / WorldCat Local / WCL

WorldCat Local lets you find everything you need with one simple search interface. Its a way for you to locate books, articles, journals, videos, and other items of interest in your library or other libraries. You can search the WorldCat database and, if your library makes them available, other specialised databases.

Featured Full Text
Alternate Name(s):Journals

Alphabetical title list of electronic full-text journals and eBooks packages to which the library has access. 

title
Loading...