Biological Sciences: Books/Journals/Databases

A union catalogue of all items held in Southern African libraries. Includes books, journals, conference proceedings, standards, technical reports and electronic resources that are updated daily.

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with over 8,500 full-text periodicals and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

Africa-Wide Information, produced by NISC South Africa, combines bibliographic databases worldwide to offer unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies.

CAB Abstracts (1973 to Present), produced by CABI Publishing, covers the significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. 

EBSCOhost databases are the most used premium online information resources for thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users. 

Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. 

IMD World Competitiveness Online is based on the leading annual report on nations' competitiveness, the IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook (IMD WCY). 

Produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, this database includes information from over 750 pharmaceutical medical and health-related journals published worldwide since 1970. International Pharmaceutical Abstracts covers the entire spectrum of drug therapy and pharmaceutical information, including current health-related drug literature.

The Web of Science has literature search databases that support scientific and scholarly research. These include databases like Medline, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Derwent Innovations Index (patents), and Data Citation Index (datasets and data studies), as well as databases highlighting content from regions around the world.

A comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3 300 publishers in over 60 countries. 

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

ScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Quickly find relevant and authoritative research, identify experts and gain access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.

Waters & Oceans Worldwide combines databases on all facets of international water research. This database includes research ranging from coastal and offshore engineering to pollution and water treatment. 

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384 000 records as well as Open Access full text for more than 4 700 records.

Sabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform.

(ISAP) Indexed articles from more than 800 South African periodicals - full indexing of specialist periodicals, selective indexing of general and popular periodicals - compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa and updated from the 1900s.

LexisNexis provides access to SA legislation, cases and commentary. 

Juta is South Africa’s leading provider of trusted legal and regulatory information and the largest local publisher of quality student textbooks in the fields of Commerce, Accounting, Communications, Social Science, Health, Education and Law.

South African National Standards in electronic format.