Chemistry: Articles/Journals/Databases

A union catalogue of all items held in Southern African libraries. Includes books, journals, conference proceedings, standards, technical reports and electronic resources that are updated daily.

ScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Quickly find relevant and authoritative research, identify experts and gain access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.

The Web of Science has literature search databases that support scientific and scholarly research. These include databases like Medline, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Derwent Innovations Index (patents), and Data Citation Index (datasets and data studies), as well as databases highlighting content from regions around the world.

IMPORTANT: Register at SciFinder (with this link) before you can search on SciFinder. After registration, SciFinder will forward an email to your NWU email address. To complete your SciFinder registration, click the link in the email. 

SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering materials, science, agricultural science, and more! 

Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data, and chemical reactions.

Scriver's OMMBID from McGraw-Hill Medical is an essential online resource delivering comprehensive coverage of the genes and genetic mechanisms underlying human disease states. 

Sabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform.

The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) hosts one of the world's largest collections of published information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. The INIS Repository contains bibliographic references and full-text documents of conventional and non-conventional literature, including scientific and technical reports, conference proceedings, patents and theses.

Contains over 180 titles in the fields of management information science and engineering.

South African National Standards in electronic format.

ITU is connecting the world – and beyond. As the United Nations specialised agency for digital technology, they are working towards harnessing innovation and connecting everyone to ensure a better future for all. 

ASHRAE writes standards to establish consensus for 1) methods of test and classification standards 2) design standards, 3) protocol standards; and 4) rating standards (in limited cases).

100+ performance rating standards and guidelines for the HVACR and water heating industry.

We have hundreds of gigabytes of full-text data which is keyword searchable using the most powerful search engine in the industry. In addition to our full-text data, we have terabytes (a terabyte is 1000 gigabytes) of images so that you can view patent diagrams.

Search and read the full text of patents from around the world. 

The Lens is an open-access, autonomous, web-based patent search facility.

Mintek Publications is a bibliographic database containing the results of Mintek's original research in metals and industrial minerals (1954-2005).
 

Sabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform.

(ISAP) Indexed articles from more than 800 South African periodicals - full indexing of specialist periodicals, selective indexing of general and popular periodicals - compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa and updated from the 1900s.