Communication Studies: Articles/Databases

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies preprint, repositories, universities, and other scholarly organisations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

The most comprehensive searchable collection of full text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa, available online.

Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP) covers indexed articles from more than 900 South African periodicals. Specialist periodicals are indexed fully whereas general and popular periodicals are indexed selectively. This database is compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa.

Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.

ScienceDirect is a leading full text scientific database offering articles/chapters from more than 2 500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11 000 books. There are currently more than 9,5 million articles/chapters in a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0,5 million additions per year.

Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.

Contains over 180 titles in the fields of management information science and engineering.

JSTOR offers a high-quality interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1 000 leading academic journals across the humanities social sciences and sciences as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.