Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Africa-Wide is a multidisciplinary database, and with access to over 2,4 million records is unique in its extensive coverage on the subject of Africa; including information written on and about Africa, and offering access to African research.
The E-Journals database provides article-level access for thousands of e-journals available through EBSCO Subscription Services. For users with a valid subscription, EBSCO’s SmartLinks technology provides direct links to publishers’ content.
EBSCOhost databases are the most-used premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide representing millions of end-users. How to search on EBSCOhost
ERIC is an index for all education topics. ERIC indexes journal articles in 1 000 education-related journals. Abstracts are provided. Some full text journal articles are available. ERIC indexes ERIC Documents. These are education materials not published elsewhere such as curriculum guides, various research reports, and conference papers.
Web of Science
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.
JSTOR offers a high-quality interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1 000 leading academic journals across the humanities social sciences and sciences as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Designed specifically for public libraries this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1 750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164 424 primary source documents as well as an Image Collection of over 453 000 photos maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2 066 400 records with subject headings from a 19 750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs and full text for 13 947 conference papers.
A-Z Publication Finder
Alphabetical title list of electronic full text journals and e-books to which the library has access/subscribes to.
SACat reflects the collection of libraries in Southern Africa and contains bibliographic information referring to books, periodicals, audiovisual items and other information material.
South African Resources
Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP)
Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP) covers indexed articles from more than 900 South African periodicals. Specialist periodicals are indexed fully whereas general and popular periodicals are indexed selectively. This database is compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa.
African Journals (previously SAePublications)
The most comprehensive searchable collection of full text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa, available online. How to search on African Journals
SA Media covers more than 120 South African newspapers and periodicals. More than 500 articles are selected daily, categorized according to 22 categories and indexed in Afrikaans and English. How to search on SA Media