Graphic Design: Articles/Databases

The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. 

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies preprint, repositories, universities, and other scholarly organisations. 

Sabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform.

Art & Architecture Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines, and trade publications; with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications and an Image Collection of over 64 000 images provided by Picture Desk and others. 

A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in art and architecture, dating from the late nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. 

Quickly find relevant and authoritative research, identify experts and gain access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.

ScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

The Web of Science has literature search databases that support scientific and scholarly research. These include databases like Medline, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Derwent Innovations Index (patents), and Data Citation Index (datasets and data studies), as well as databases highlighting content from regions around the world.

(ISAP) Indexed articles from more than 800 South African periodicals - full indexing of specialist periodicals, selective indexing of general and popular periodicals - compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa and updated from the 1900s.

A union catalogue of all items held in Southern African libraries. Includes books, journals, conference proceedings, standards, technical reports and electronic resources that are updated daily.

A news clipping services collection comprising over 5,4 million articles. With an average of 2500 new articles added weekly, SA Media (News Clippings) is a comprehensive research tool that allows you to search local mainstream publications.