Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search in the Library Collection and Beyond
Search the catalogue for books, eBooks, theses, DVD's, and more.
Search for resources at your library and in the collections of the world's libraries.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Africa-Wide is a multidisciplinary database, and with access to over 2,4 million records is unique in its extensive coverage on the subject of Africa; including information written on and about Africa, and offering access to African research.
CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals providing full text for nearly 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Full text coverage dates back to 1981.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making.
EBSCOhost databases are the most-used premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide representing millions of end-users. How to search on EBSCOhost
Emerald Insight Journals
Contains over 180 titles in the fields of management information science and engineering.
ERIC is an index for all education topics. ERIC indexes journal articles in 1 000 education-related journals. Abstracts are provided. Some full text journal articles are available. ERIC indexes ERIC Documents. These are education materials not published elsewhere such as curriculum guides, various research reports, and conference papers.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Covers medical disciplines and information regarding prescription drugs, herbal remedies, and nutritional supplements.
Contains 650 full text journals and abstracts and indexing for more than 850 journals and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide
Leading reference database for scientific literature published worldwide on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology.
Web of Science
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.
JSTOR offers a high-quality interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1 000 leading academic journals across the humanities social sciences and sciences as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Designed specifically for public libraries this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1 750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164 424 primary source documents as well as an Image Collection of over 453 000 photos maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4 800 current biomedical journals.
Nursing@Ovid is a sophisticated new online portal offering streamlined access to premium nursing and allied health full-text resources.
PsycARTICLES from the American Psychological Association (APA) is a definitive source of full text peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150 000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organisations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
The PsycINFO database American Psychological Associations (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behaviorual science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage which spans from 1887 to present includes international material selected from more than 2 400 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
ScienceDirect is a leading full text scientific database offering articles/chapters from more than 2 500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11 000 books. There are currently more than 9,5 million articles/chapters in a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0,5 million additions per year. How to search on ScienceDirect
A-Z Publication Finder
Alphabetical title list of electronic full text journals and e-books to which the library has access/subscribes to.
SACat reflects the collection of libraries in Southern Africa and contains bibliographic information referring to books, periodicals, audiovisual items and other information material.
South African Resources
Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP)
Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP) covers indexed articles from more than 900 South African periodicals. Specialist periodicals are indexed fully whereas general and popular periodicals are indexed selectively. This database is compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa.
Postgraduate Training Calendar