Science: Articles/Journals

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with over 8,500 full-text periodicals and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

Africa-Wide Information, produced by NISC South Africa, combines bibliographic databases worldwide to offer unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies.

EBSCOhost databases are the most used premium online information resources for thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users. 

EconLit with Full Text contains all of EconLit's indexing, plus full text for nearly 600 journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo.

Contains over 180 titles in the fields of management information science and engineering.

ERIC is an index for all education topics. ERIC indexes journal articles in 1,000 education-related journals. Abstracts are provided. Some full-text journal articles are available. ERIC indexes ERIC Documents. These are educational materials not published elsewhere, such as curriculum guides, research reports, and conference papers.

IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full-text access to the world’s highest-quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. 

(ISAP) Indexed articles from more than 800 South African periodicals - full indexing of specialist periodicals, selective indexing of general and popular periodicals - compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa and updated from the 1900s.

The Web of Science has literature search databases that support scientific and scholarly research. These include databases like Medline, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Derwent Innovations Index (patents), and Data Citation Index (datasets and data studies), as well as databases highlighting content from regions around the world.

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,750 general reference publications, with full-text information dating back to 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164 424 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps, and flags. 

MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.

The PsycINFO database American Psychological Associations (APA), a renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. 

ScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Quickly find relevant and authoritative research, identify experts and gain access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.

A union catalogue of all items held in Southern African libraries. Includes books, journals, conference proceedings, standards, technical reports and electronic resources that are updated daily.

The Lens is an open-access, autonomous, web-based patent search facility.

We have hundreds of gigabytes of full-text data which is keyword searchable using the most powerful search engine in the industry. In addition to our full-text data, we have terabytes (a terabyte is 1000 gigabytes) of images so that you can view patent diagrams.

South African National Standards in electronic format.