Nursing: Journal articles / Databases / Statistics

ScienceDirect is a leading full text scientific database offering articles/chapters from more than 2 500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11 000 books. There are currently more than 9,5 million articles/chapters in a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0,5 million additions per year.

Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.

Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. There are databases with a subject focus like Medline, BIOSIS Citation Index, and Zoological Record; databases with a document type focus like Derwent Innovations Index (patents) and Data Citation Index (datasets and data studies); and databases highlighting content from regions around the world. 

Learn more about Web of Science and how to search on this database.

This service allows you to discover articles about African content covering various topics. Our collection of journal subjects includes:

• Open Access African Journal Archive
• Business and Finance
• Education
• Labour
• Law
• Medicine and Health
• Science, Technology and Agriculture
• Religion
• Social Sciences and Humanities
• Juta's Law Collection

Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP) covers indexed articles from more than 900 South African periodicals. Specialist periodicals are indexed fully whereas general and popular periodicals are indexed selectively. This database is compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa.

PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies preprint, repositories, universities, and other scholarly organisations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

Alphabetical title list of electronic full-text journals and e-books to which the library has access to.

SACat reflects the collection of libraries in Southern Africa and contains bibliographic information referring to books, periodicals, audiovisual items and other information material.

The Scientific & Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase is a collection of 20 000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics.

JSTOR offers a high-quality interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1 000 leading academic journals across the humanities social sciences and sciences as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.