Physiology: Journal Articles/Databases

ScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Quickly find relevant and authoritative research, identify experts and gain access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.

Sabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform.

(ISAP) Indexed articles from more than 800 South African periodicals - full indexing of specialist periodicals, selective indexing of general and popular periodicals - compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa and updated from the 1900s.

The Web of Science has literature search databases that support scientific and scholarly research. These include databases like Medline, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Derwent Innovations Index (patents), and Data Citation Index (datasets and data studies), as well as databases highlighting content from regions around the world.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies preprint, repositories, universities, and other scholarly organisations. 

PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

PLOS is a nonprofit organisation of scientists and physicians committed to making the world’s scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. 

A union catalogue of all items held in Southern African libraries. Includes books, journals, conference proceedings, standards, technical reports and electronic resources that are updated daily.

The Scientific & Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase is a collection of 20,000+ high-quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics.

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

South African National Standards in electronic format.