LibGuides: Public Management & Governance: Journal Articles/Databases

Key Databases

Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies preprint, repositories, universities, and other scholarly organisations. 
Use this search box to see the NWU full text link next to the search results:
African Journals Sabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform.
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Select the following databases on EbscoHost:Academic Search PremierAfrica-Wide InformationBusiness Source PremierE-JournalsMasterFile PremierSocINDEX with full text
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight Journals Contains over 180 titles in the fields of management information science and engineering.
- This link opens in a new window
Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP) Indexed articles from more than 800 South African periodicals - full indexing of specialist periodicals, selective indexing of general and popular periodicals - compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa and updated from the 1900s.
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus Quickly find relevant and authoritative research, identify experts and gain access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
- This link opens in a new window
How to find your H-index in Scopus
- YouTube video: How to check H-index in Scopus, Web of Science, and Google Scholar
How to find Altmetrics in Scopus
Track your online research activity
- Altmetrics from Scopus will only appear when data is available.
- Scopus captures the following data:
  - total number of times popular media mentions the article
  - total number of mentions of an article in a blog, Tweets, or other social media posts
  - citation impact as compared to articles of similar subjects
  - if or when it is added to Mendeley library
  - mentions in Wikipedia articles
  - Video: How to view document metrics in Scopus
  - Video: Overview of journal metrics in Scopus
  - Video: How to assess an author's impact in Scopus
Web of Science The Web of Science has literature search databases that support scientific and scholarly research. These include databases like Medline, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Derwent Innovations Index (patents), and Data Citation Index (datasets and data studies), as well as databases highlighting content from regions around the world.
- This link opens in a new window
How to find your H-index in Web of Science
- YouTube video: How to check H-index in Scopus, Web of Science, and Google Scholar
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- This link opens in a new window
IMD World Competitiveness Online IMD World Competitiveness Online is based on the leading annual report on nations' competitiveness, the IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook (IMD WCY). 
Africa Portal The Africa Portal is a research repository and an expert analysis hub on African affairs.
- This link opens in a new window
They are dedicated to publishing and promoting research and analysis of Africa from think tanks and thought leaders (academics, researchers, journalists and industry experts) on policy issues across various fields. They also produce thematic series on critical issues dominating the African and global policy agenda.
Their open-access research repository holds over 10,000 reports, occasional papers and policy briefs, available for free, full-text download. Research publications on the Africa Portal are primarily provided by our content partners, who benefit from the broader dissemination of their research to a global community. Our key research themes are:
- Politics and Governance;
- Economics;
- Energy and Environment ;
- Health;
- Peace and Security;
- Human Rights;
- Foreign Policy;
- Information and Communications Technology; and
- Education

Law Databases

Juta Juta is South Africa’s leading provider of trusted legal and regulatory information and the largest local publisher of quality student textbooks in the fields of Commerce, Accounting, Communications, Social Science, Health, Education and Law.
- This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis LexisNexis provides access to SA legislation, cases and commentary. 
- This link opens in a new window
Sabinet Legal
- This link opens in a new window
The expertise and insights gained from more than 25 years of providing credible legal information to navigate South Africa’s fast-paced legislative landscape.

Additional Databases

SACat A union catalogue of all items held in Southern African libraries. Includes books, journals, conference proceedings, standards, technical reports and electronic resources that are updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
SA Media A news clipping services collection comprising over 5,4 million articles. With an average of 2500 new articles added weekly, SA Media (News Clippings) is a comprehensive research tool that allows you to search local mainstream publications. 
- This link opens in a new window

Newspaper articles

Public Management & Governance: Journal Articles/Databases

Key Databases

Use this search box to see the NWU full text link next to the search results:

How to find your H-index in Scopus

How to find Altmetrics in Scopus

Track your online research activity

How to find your H-index in Web of Science

Law Databases

Additional Databases