Skip to Main Content

Undergraduate Student Support: Databases

This library guide strives to provide e-support for undergraduate students at the NWU.

Tips on how to Choose a Database

For South African journal articles, search in:

African Journals
- This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on South-African Content (Recommended)
SA Media (Sabinet)
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper clippings with South-African content (Recommended)

And for international scholarly journals, search:

WorldCat Discovery searches in almost all the resources the Library subscribes to in one easy search. Read more about WorldCat Discovery.

WorldCat Discovery

Additional:

Publication Finder for NWU
- This link opens in a new window
Alphabetical title list of electronic full-text journals and e-books to which the library has access to.

Special Collections
Maintained by the Ferdinand Postma Library e.g. Exam papers.

Online Journal Databases

A database is an organised set or body of data/information held within a computer system.

Online journal databases

provide access to information in journals
cover all fields of study
can be general or subject-specific regarding content
can be accessed via the websites of academic libraries

Quick Links

eBooks@NWU
WorldCat Discovery
WorldCat Discovery A-Z List
Google Scholar
African Journals
- This link opens in a new window
Boloka: NWU Institutional Repository (NWU-IR)
EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight Journals
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Juta
- This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis
- This link opens in a new window
PressReader
- This link opens in a new window
Sabinet Online
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Finder for NWU
- This link opens in a new window

Read more about our passwords