LibGuides: Agriculture: Databases

Agriculture Databases

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window CAB Abstracts (1973 to Present), produced by CABI Publishing, covers the significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. 
- This link opens in a new window
Global plants on JSTOR Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
- This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384 000 records as well as Open Access full text for more than 4 700 records.
- This link opens in a new window
Medline MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
- This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases for Agriculture

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with over 8,500 full-text periodicals and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with most full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Scopus Quickly find relevant and authoritative research, identify experts and gain access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
- This link opens in a new window
How to find your H-index in Scopus
- YouTube video: How to check H-index in Scopus, Web of Science, and Google Scholar
How to find Altmetrics in Scopus
Track your online research activity
- Altmetrics from Scopus will only appear when data is available.
- Scopus captures the following data:
  - total number of times popular media mentions the article
  - total number of mentions of an article in a blog, Tweets, or other social media posts
  - citation impact as compared to articles of similar subjects
  - if or when it is added to Mendeley library
  - mentions in Wikipedia articles
  - Video: How to view document metrics in Scopus
  - Video: Overview of journal metrics in Scopus
  - Video: How to assess an author's impact in Scopus
Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies preprint, repositories, universities, and other scholarly organisations. 
Use this search box to see the NWU full text link next to the search results:
Google Books Find the perfect book for your purposes and discover new ones that interest you.
EBSCOhost EBSCOhost databases are the most used premium online information resources for thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users. 
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) ™ database is the world's most comprehensive curated collection of multidisciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world. It offers over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science The Web of Science has literature search databases that support scientific and scholarly research. These include databases like Medline, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Derwent Innovations Index (patents), and Data Citation Index (datasets and data studies), as well as databases highlighting content from regions around the world.
- This link opens in a new window
How to find your H-index in Web of Science
- YouTube video: How to check H-index in Scopus, Web of Science, and Google Scholar
InCites InCites™ is a customized, web-based research evaluation tool that allows you to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark your output against peers worldwide. With customized citation data, global metrics, and multidimensional profiles on the leading research institutions, InCites gives comprehensive insight into your institution's performance. And with robust visualization and reporting tools, you can create and share reports quickly and easily.
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Consumer Edition It covers information on many health topics, including medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Contains full text for over 190 journals and abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health publications.
- This link opens in a new window

Open Access

Library

Academic Journals Academic Journals publishes over 100 open-access journals covering the arts and humanities, engineering, medical, social, biological, physical, and agricultural sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
African Journal Archive The African Journal Archive is a retrospective open-access journal service that preserves and makes available African journal literature dating as far back as 1906.
- This link opens in a new window
The Carnegie Corporation of New York initiated and sponsored the Sabinet Gateway project. Sabinet is pleased to make it available as a collection via the Sabinet African Journals platform.
African Journals Online AJOL, the world's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals, is a Non-Profit Organisation that (since 1998) works to increase global & continental online access, awareness, quality & use of African-published, peer-reviewed research.
- This link opens in a new window
AOSIS Open Journals Explore their extensive collection of open-access books and journals. All our open-access content is free, and available to everyone upon publication.
- This link opens in a new window
AOSIS Scholarly Books AOSIS maximises opportunities for Higher Education institutions to support research and development through publishing scholarly books in all scientific fields.
- This link opens in a new window
Bioline International Bioline promotes the global exchange of scientific knowledge by providing reliable and timely access to high-quality peer-reviewed journals published in developing countries.
- This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.
- This link opens in a new window
Boloka: NWU Institutional Repository (NWU-IR) This is a digital archive that collects, preserves and distributes research material created by members of NWU. The NWU-IR aims to increase the visibility, availability and impact of the research output of the North-West University through Open Access, search engine indexing and harvesting by several initiatives.
- This link opens in a new window
Free Medical Journals Over the next years the most important medical journals will be available online free and in full text. The unrestricted access to scientific knowledge - the new standard in medical publishing - will have a major impact on medical practice.
- This link opens in a new window