Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reading eBooks online
- You can read eBooks online with software that comes standard on most computers and portable devices.
- If special software is needed to open and read an eBook online, the eBook will often provide its own (e.g. eBook Central) software.
- On Library computers, you can only read the eBook online.
Reading eBooks offline
- Downloading eBook Central eBooks using Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) software
- If you wish to download eBooks to your computer or device, you must have both a free Adobe account and the free Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) software installed. Adobe Digital Editions allows you to access eBooks downloaded to your computer in either ePub or PDF format protected with Adobe Digital Rights Management (DRM).
- Download Adobe Digital Editions.
During installation of Adobe Digital Editions there should be an option to Authorize Computer. Select Authorize Computer and login with your Adobe ID and Password. Note: If you select Don’t Authorize Computer you cannot transfer an Adobe DRM protected eBook to another computer or any tablet devices/smart phones and/or eBook readers. In other words all the purchased or borrowed books afterwards belong to that computer. You are able to download or transfer the same eBook to 6 computers and tablet devices/smartphones and eBook readers where either Adobe Digital Editions is installed and authorised with the same Adobe ID.
Read more about our eBook collections.
Search the Library Catalogue and Beyond
Search the catalogue for books, eBooks, theses, DVD's, and more.
Search for resources at your library and in the collections of the world's libraries.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world’s biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
PharosOnline is the focus of South African subject dictionaries and glossaries - a one-stop reference for all terminology users.
e-Woordeboek van die Afrikaanse Taal (e-Wat)
The most complete and authoritative dictionary on the Afrikaans language.
Britannica Academic Edition
Britannica is online in e-books and on mobile devices. Britannica is about math, science, and social studies. Britannica is for the 2nd-grader learning math, the teacher explaining the laws of gravity, and the lifelong learner trying to understand the latest political crisis.
Britannica Image Quest
Now you can enjoy easy online access to more than two million images from one convenient site: Britannica Image Quest. All images are rights-cleared for noncommercial educational use, great for teacher lessons, plans, assignments activities, and whiteboards, student reports and projects, or school Web sites, newsletters, newspapers, flyers, and bulletins.
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
eNotes is an educational resource used by millions of teachers and students.
We have thousands of literature study guides, lesson plans, literary criticism, and a vibrant community that we invite you to join.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy. (Two Volume Set) by
Publication Date: 2009-01-11
From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this two-volume encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.
African Digital Library (ADL)
The African Digital Library (ADL) is a collection of electronic books (eBooks) that can be accessed and used free of charge by any person living on the African continent. Individuals can access this library from any PC that is connected to the Internet in Africa.
Directory of Open Access Books (Doab)
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB.
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences.
Academic Complete, a growing eBook collection that spans all academic subject areas.
Economics & Finance e-books
Bookboon's free online textbooks for students are focused and to the point. They are all written by highly respected professors from top universities in the world and cover topics such as economics, statistics, IT, engineering and natural science.
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.