LibGuides: Management Sciences: Subject Databases & Websites

Databases

HSTalks
- This link opens in a new window
A multimedia resource for teaching and learning.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Company Profiles
Country Reports
Industry Profiles
Market Research Reports
EasyData by Quantec Only registered students - create your own username and password to login.
- This link opens in a new window
Gartner
- This link opens in a new window
Gartner provides senior leaders across the enterprise with the indispensable insights, advice, and tools they need to achieve their mission-critical priorities and build the organisations of tomorrow.
IMF eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.
No IPs or registrations are required for access, although some features of the IMF sites require users to create a personal account.
IRESS Expert
- This link opens in a new window
Contact lezelle.snyman@nwu.ac.za with the information you need
Market Access Map
- This link opens in a new window
Contact library for username and password
OECD iLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), featuring its books, papers, and statistics. It is the gateway to the OECD's analysis and data. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, the PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
Policy Commons
Register on Policy Commons with your NWU e-mail address for access.
NOTE: The Library does not subscribe to this database. By registering with your NWU email, you will get access to 25 free searches per month.
Africa Portal
- This link opens in a new window
The Africa Portal is a research repository and an expert analysis hub on African affairs.
They are dedicated to publishing and promoting research and analysis of Africa from think tanks and thought leaders (academics, researchers, journalists and industry experts) on policy issues across various fields. They also produce thematic series on critical issues dominating the African and global policy agenda.
Their open-access research repository holds over 10,000 reports, occasional papers and policy briefs, available for free, full-text download. Research publications on the Africa Portal are primarily provided by our content partners, who benefit from the broader dissemination of their research to a global community. Our key research themes are:
- Politics and Governance;
- Economics;
- Energy and Environment ;
- Health;
- Peace and Security;
- Human Rights;
- Foreign Policy;
- Information and Communications Technology; and
- Education
South African Regional Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
Regional eXplorer is a consolidated platform of integrated databases for accurate and up-to-date spatial level economic, socio-economic, demographic and development information.
- Product provided by IT Services.
- The product is installed on Citrix-compliant devices and should be available on the Information Commons and Lab computers. Contact your Student IT Support to access Citrix on your device.
Trade Map
- This link opens in a new window
Trade Map provides users with indicators on export performance international demand alternative markets and the role of competitors. Trade Map covers 220 countries and territories and 5300 products of the Harmonized System. Trade data is also available at the tariff line level for more than 120 countries and on a quarterly and monthly basis for more than 50 countries. Contact library for username and password
UN Comtrade Database
- This link opens in a new window
Contact library for username and password
WTO iLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
The WTO iLibrary brings together all the World Trade Organization's key research material on global trade.

Useful Websites

Bureau for Economic Research (BER)
The BER monitors and forecasts economic trends, and identifies and analyses factors, both locally and internationally, that affect South African businesses. Extensive historical dataset and macroeconomic forecasting models, which are used both for projecting SA macroeconomic trends and policy/impact analyses.
globalEDGE - Country Comparator
Compare countries across a variety of economic indicators including GDP, inflation and exports.
globalEDGE - Global Insights
Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.
more...less...
Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.
OECD Factbook
A wide range of key statistics for its member countries and major additional countries. For each indicator presented, there is explanatory text including a definition, explanation of long-term trends, and references; a table showing the indicator over a significant time span for all countries covered, and graphics showing the key messages contained in the data.
Statistics South Africa (Stats SA)

Organizations

International Monetary Fund (IMF)