LibGuides: Political Studies: Theses/Dissertations

North-West University: Theses and Dissertations

Boloka: NWU Institutional Repository

Theses and dissertations completed at the NWU since 2004 are available electronically via Boloka. Upon request from users, theses and dissertations before 2004 will be considered for digitization.
The complete thesis (print) collection is available via the online Library Catalogue.
View more sources from other institutions and universities.

South African Universities

Current and Completed Research
- This link opens in a new window
Dating from 1919-2014. Contains current and completed projects (in economics, science and humanities), and includes (the master’s and doctoral) theses and dissertations from South African Universities, Technikons, and Universities of Technology, as well as the research, works from the government, non-government, and private sectors. Some include links to the full text. The database is maintained by the National Research Foundation.

IRSpace - Search in SA repositories Institutional repository harvester for African research institutions.

Kovsidex
- This link opens in a new window
Navtech (SA Technikon Research)
- This link opens in a new window
Current and completed research undertaken in what used to be South African Technikons - updated daily. Disclaimer: Only records catalogued by their institutions on WorldCat (subfield 653 $aNavTech) are available.

University of Kwazulu-Natal: ResearchSpace A digital library of UKZN scholarly research.

Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD)
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records of theses and dissertations on Master’s and Doctoral level submitted to South African universities since 1918 – updated daily.

University of Cape Town: OpenUCT The UCT Computer Science Research Document Archive, archives and makes accessible documents that are products and by-products of research in the department.
University of Johannesburg: UJContent The Institutional Repository of the University of Johannesburg (UJDigispace) is a digital service that collects, preserves, and distributes digital materials and is also referenced in the ISSN Register- ISSN: 2310-788X.
University of Pretoria: UPSpace Insitutional Repository UPeTD is the University of Pretoria's electronic theses and dissertations service. It forms part of the Open Scholarship programme of the Library Services.
University of South Africa (UNISA): Insitutional Repository Unisa Institutional Repository (UnisaIR), an open digital archive of scholarly intellectual and research outputs of the University of South Africa. The UnisaIR contains and preserves theses and dissertations, research articles, conference papers, rare and special materials and many other digital assets.
University of Stellenbosch: SUNScholar Research Repository SUNScholar Research Repository is an open access electronic archive for the collection, preservation and distribution of digital materials created by members of the research community at Stellenbosch University.
University of the Free State: Kovsie Scholar University of the Free State ETD collection
University of the Western Cape: Electronic Theses and Dissertations Repository The University of the Western Cape electronic theses and dissertations repository holds full-text theses submitted for degree purposes since 2004, with selected titles prior to 2004. Access to the complete theses (print) collection is available via the online catalogue.
University of the Witwatersrand: WIReDSpace Wits Institutional Repository environment on DSpace

Important Sources

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
- This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) ™ database is the world's most comprehensive curated collection of multidisciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world. It offers over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.

Other Universities

Caltech THESIS CaltechTHESIS is a growing repository of Ph.D., Engineer, Master's and Bachelor's/Senior theses authored by Caltech students. It is updated continuously as students add new theses, and as library staff scan and add older theses.
DART - Europe E-theses Portal DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.
Dissertation.com Master’s Thesis and Ph.D. Dissertation Database.
DiVA - Digitala Vetenskapliga Arkivet DiVA portal is a finding tool and an institutional repository for research publications and student theses written at 34 universities and colleges of higher education.
DSpace@MIT DSpace@MIT is a growing collection of MIT’s research that includes peer-reviewed articles, technical reports, working papers, theses and more.
EThOS (UK theses) EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
HKUST Library (Institutional Repository) The Repository collects, preserves, and disseminates the scholarly output created by the HKUST community. All documents deposited here are openly accessible on the Internet. It also indexes our researchers' scholarly publications and provides a Scholar Profile interface for our current faculty members to showcase their publications, bibliometrics, research interests and projects.
NARCIS: National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System NARCIS provides access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.
NDLTD: Networked digital library of theses and dissertations
Theses Canada Canadian universities participate in the program voluntarily by submitting approved theses and dissertation to Theses Canada.
VTechWorks (Virginia Tech's Electronic Theses and dissertations) Virginia Tech has been a worldwide leader in ETD initiatives for more than 20 years. On January 1, 1997 VT was the first university to require ETDs. Our mission is to preserve and provide access to the research and scholarship of Virginia Tech's graduate students.