LibGuides: Social Work: Databases/eJournals/Articles

Search in the Library Collection and Beyond

South Africa E-learning Platform via Snapplify - Follow the instructions in this PDF document.

Complete list of NWU Databases

For a complete list of all our databases click here.

Finding spesific Journals

WorldCat A-Z List
Alphabetical title list of electronic full-text journals and eBooks packages in your library.

The NWU library subscribes to thousands of journals. If you want to search for a specific journal the A-Z list will help you to find it. The A-Z list is also a great way to explore all the journals on a specific subject. e.g. Typing “Psychology” in the search field will give you all the journals with the word “Psychology” in the title. You can also browse the journals alphabetically.

e-Journals

Most journal articles are available electronically especially articles published after 2000. These articles can be found in online databases to which the library subscribes.

These articles have several advantages.

The article can easily be located and displayed.
You can access the article from any place with an internet connection. In other words, you do not have to be in the library to search for specific articles.
The full text of the article can be searched.
The articles are available 24/7.
Articles can be downloaded, saved, printed and e-mailed.
Links to similar articles and topics help with the search process.

NWU Library databases can be accessed off-campus, but the web page will ask for a password. The details you have to provide are your surname and Id number. Accessing Google Scholar through the library page will also help to link various articles in the databases to your Google Scholar results.

Note: Sometimes publishers limit access to the newest articles. This “embargo” means the articles will only be available after 3, 6 or 12 months. Usually it is 12 months.

South African Resources

African Journals
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals in the world focusses on making journals published in South Africa available online
SA Media
- This link opens in a new window
A news clipping services collection comprising over 5,4 million articles. With an average of 2500 new articles added weekly, SA Media (News Clippings) is a comprehensive research tool that allows you to search local mainstream publications.
Index to South African Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
(ISAP) Indexed articles from more than 800 South African periodicals - full indexing of specialist periodicals, selective indexing of general and popular periodicals - compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa and updated from the 1900s.

Important Databases

The following databases are widely used in the field of Social Work.

APA PsycArticles
- This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES from the American Psychological Association (APA) is a definitive source of full-text peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
APA PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO database American Psychological Associations (APA), a renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health.
SocINDEX with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2 066 400 records with subject headings from 19 750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908.
Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with over 8,500 full-text periodicals and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with most full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost databases are the most used premium online information resources for thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Emerald Insight Journals
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 180 titles in the fields of management information science and engineering.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
ERIC
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an index for all education topics. ERIC indexes journal articles in 1,000 education-related journals. Abstracts are provided. Some full-text journal articles are available. ERIC indexes ERIC Documents. These are educational materials not published elsewhere, such as curriculum guides, research reports, and conference papers.
Teacher Reference Center
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Medline
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- This link opens in a new window
It covers medical disciplines and provides information regarding prescription drugs, herbal remedies, and nutritional supplements. It contains 650 full-text journals and abstracts and indexing for more than 850 journals and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Cochrane Library
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
CINAHL with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for nearly 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
Africa-Wide Information
- This link opens in a new window
Africa-Wide Information, produced by NISC South Africa, combines bibliographic databases worldwide to offer unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies.
It includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations. Included in this aggregation are 40 bibliographic databases from around the world, including Index to South African Periodicals, IBISCUS, the Africa Institute Database, African Journal Online, Media Africa, and NAMLIT, which is compiled from the National Library of Namibia. With over 3.5 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century, this resource is essential for those interested in African research, and information on and about Africa.
MasterFILE Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,750 general reference publications, with full-text information dating back to 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164 424 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps, and flags.