Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work: Reference works

Welcome to the Library guide for Social Work. Here you will find a OneStop service to assist you in your studies or research at the NWU.

Reference Books

Reference books or Encyclopaedias provide quick insight on a topic and helps to provide a broader view of the topic.  Their Dewey numbers correlate with their open shelf partners, but have an R preceding the Dewey number.  You will also find quite a number of Dictionaries on your subject field among the Reference Books.

Ask at the Information Desk for more information.

Some examples are:
R300.151 CRA    The Sage dictionary of statistics : a practical resource for students in the social sciences / Duncan Cramer and Dennis Howitt.
R300.15195 VOG    Dictionary of statistics & methodology : a nontechnical guide for the social sciences / W. Paul Vogt, R. Burke Johnson.
R300.2 LAW    Dictionary of sociology / Tony Lawson & Joan Garrod.
R300.285 NES    Survey research and the World Wide Web / Dale K. Nesbary.
R300.3 BLA    The Blackwell dictionary of modern social thought.
R300.3 DIC    Dictionary of the social sciences / edited by Craig Calhoun.
R300.3 INT    International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences / editors in chief, Neil J. Smelser, Paul B. Baltes.
R300.3 SOC    The social science encyclopedia / edited by Adam Kuper and Jessica Kuper.
R300.72 ENC    Encyclopedia of social measurement / editor-in-chief, Kimberly Kempf-Leonard.
R300.72 ENC    Encyclopedia of survey research methods / editor, Paul J. Lavrakas.
R300.72 SAG    The Sage encyclopedia of social science research methods / Michael S. Lewis-Beck, Alan Bryman, Tim Futing Liao, editors.
R300.72 SAG    The Sage dictionary of social research methods / compiled and edited by Victor Jupp.
R300.72 SCH    Dictionary of qualitative inquiry / Thomas A. Schwandt.
R300.72 SCH    The SAGE dictionary of qualitative inquiry / Thomas A. Schwandt.
R301 TWE    21st century sociology : a reference handbook / edited by Clifton D. Bryant, Dennis L. Peck.
R301.03 BLA    The Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology / edited by George Ritzer.
R301.03 BRU    The Sage dictionary of sociology / Steve Bruce and Steven Yearley.
R301.03 CAM    The Cambridge dictionary of sociology / general editor, Bryan S. Turner.
R301.03 COM    Companion encyclopedia of anthropology / edited by Tim Ingold.
R301.03 DIC    A dictionary of sociology / edited by John Scott and Gordon Marshall.
R301.03 ENC    Encyclopedia of anthropology / H. James Birx, editor.
R301.03 JOH    The Blackwell dictionary of sociology : a user's guide to sociological language / Allan G. Johnson.
R301.092 MAK    Makers of modern culture / edited by Justin Wintle.
R302.03 ENC    Encyclopedia of social psychology / Roy F. Baumeister, Kathleen D. Vohs, editors.
R302.03 ENC    Encyclopedia of human relationships / Harry T. Reis, Susan Sprecher, [editors].
R302.03 ENC    Encyclopedia of identity / editor Ronald L. Jackson, II   consulting editor, Michael A. Hogg.
R302.2303 ENC    Encyclopedia of social movement media / edited by John D. H. Downing.
R302.2308 ENC    Encyclopedia of gender in media / Mary Kosut, editor.
R302.303 ENC    Encyclopedia of group processes & intergroup relations / John M. Levine, Michael A. Hogg, editors.
R303.603 ENC    Encyclopedia of violence, peace, & conflict / editor-in-chief, Lester Kurtz.
R304.203 DIC    The dictionary of human geography / edited by R.J. Johnston ... [et al.].
R304.203 ENC    Encyclopedia of world environmental history / Shepard Krech III, J.R. McNeill, Carolyn Merchant, editors.
R304.84003 ENC    The encyclopedia of migration and minorities in Europe : from the seventeenth century to the present / edited by Klaus J. Bade ... [et al.]   editorial assistance Corrie van Eijl ... [et al.].
R305.23103 CAM    The Cambridge encyclopedia of child development / edited by Brian Hopkins   associate editors, Ronald G. Barr, George F. Michel, Philippe Rochat.
R305.23103 ENC    Encyclopedia of applied developmental science / edited by Celia B. Fisher,  Richard M. Lerner.
R305.235 ENC    Encyclopedia of adolescence / editors-in-chief, B. Bradford Brown, Mitchell J. Prinstein.
R305.8003 CAS    Encyclopedia of race and ethnic studies / Ellis Cashmore.
R306.02 ENC    Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology / edited by Alan Barnard, Jonathan Spencer.
R306.03 CUL    Cultural theory : the key concepts / edited by Andrew Edgar and Peter Sedgwick.
R306.36403 CAM    The Cambridge encyclopedia of hunters and gatherers / edited by Richard B. Lee and Richard Daly.
R306.44 DIC    A dictionary of sociolinguistics / Joan Swann ... [et al.].
R306.44014 TRU    A glossary of sociolinguistics / Peter Trudgill.
R306.903 ENC    Encyclopedia of death and dying / edited by Glennys Howarth and Oliver Leaman.
R361.003 BAR    The social work dictionary / by Robert L. Barker.
R361.0603 FEL    Dictionary of counselling / Colin Feltham and Windy Dryden.
R362.103 CUL    The dictionary of health economics / Anthony J. Culyer.
R362.503 POV    Poverty : an international glossary / edited by Paul Spicker, Sonia Alvarez Leguizam´ón, & David Gordon.


Google

Google Web Search

Dictionaries