It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tourism Management: Research Support
Welcome to the Library guide for Tourism Management. Here you will find a OneStop service to assist you in your studies or research at the NWU
Interlibrary Loans (ILL) provides a service to postgraduate students and researchers by obtaining material not owned by the North-West University Libraries. The Library provides documents to other national and international libraries through a nationwide interlibrary loan network.
Fieldwork in Tourism by C. Michael Hall (Editor)The inherent mobility of tourists and consequent relative ephemerality of contact between the visitor and the visited tourism phenomenon have specific characteristics that challenge the usual fieldwork practices of the social and physical sciences. Such conditions create specific concerns for the tourism researcher in terms of their positionality, relationality, accessibility, ethics, reflexivity, and methodological appropriateness. Fieldwork in Tourism is the first book to focus on this extremely significant component of contemporary tourist research and provides hands on approaches to conducting tourism fieldwork in a range of settings, exploring the methodological considerations and offering strategies to mitigate these. The book also discusses how fieldwork affects researchers personally and what happens to field relationships. Divided into five sections, each with an introduction and a guide to further reading, the chapters cover the context of fieldwork, research relationships, politics and power, the position of the researcher in the field, research methods and processes, including virtual fieldwork, and the relationships between being a tourist and doing fieldwork. The concluding chapter suggests that the link between tourism and fieldwork perhaps offers greater insights into understanding creative fieldwork than may be imagined. This book incorporates a rich and diverse set of fieldwork experiences, insights and reflections on conducting fieldwork in different settings, the problems that emerge, the solutions that were developed, and the realities of being 'in the field'. Fieldwork in Tourism is an essential guide for Tourism higher level students, academics and researchers embarking on research in this field.
Call Number: 338.4791 FIE
Publication Date: 2010-10-20
Frameworks for Tourism Research by Douglas G. PearceFrameworks are the foundation of good scholarship. They structure, organize and communicate research, underpin individual studies and shape the field of study as a whole. This book provides the first comprehensive and systematic review and critique of frameworks for tourism research. Theoretical, conceptual, analytical and integrative frameworks are all covered in detail, with the features, use, strengths and limitations of each form discussed and illustrated using a wide range of examples and applications across the field of tourism studies.
Call Number: 338.4791 PEA
Publication Date: 2012-06-29
Handbook of Research Methods in Tourism by Larry Dwyer (Editor); Alison Gill (Editor); Neelu Seetaram (Editor)This insightful book explores the most important established and emerging qualitative and quantitative research methods in tourism. The authors provide a detailed overview of the nature of the research method, its use in tourism, the advantages and limitations, and future directions for research. Each chapter is structured to provide information on: the nature of the technique and its evolution; background and types of problems that the technique is designed to handle; applications of the technique to tourism, including discussion of studies that have used the technique and their findings; advantages and limitations of the technique conceptually and for policy formulation; and further developments and applications of the technique in tourism research. Handbook of Research Methods in Tourism will appeal to social scientists, students as well as researchers in tourism who use quantitative and qualitative research techniques.
Call Number: 338.4791 HAN
Publication Date: 2012-08-31
An Introduction to Visual Research Methods in Tourism by Tijana Rakic (Editor); Donna Chambers (Editor)An Introduction to Visual Research Methods in Tourism is the first book to present, discuss and promote the use of a range of visual methods in tourism studies. It introduces methods ranging from the collection of secondary visual materials for the purposes of analysis (such as postcards, tourism brochures, and websites) and the creation of visuals in the context of primary research (such as photography, video and drawings), to the production of data through photo-elicitation techniques. The book promotes thoroughly underpinned interdisciplinary visual tourism research and includes an exploration of many key philosophical, methodological and inter-disciplinary approaches. Comprised of five parts: introduction; paradigms, academic disciplines and theory; methods; analysis and representation; and conclusion. This volume informs and inspires its readers through a reliance on theory, examples from tourism studies conducted in various geographical locations and through key pedagogical features such as annotated further readings, practical tips boxes and concise chapter summaries. This book will be of interest to experienced visual tourism researchers, scholars wishing to incorporate visual methods in their studies of tourism for the very first time, as well as students on undergraduate, postgraduate or doctoral programmes who are contemplating the incorporation of visual methods in their studies of tourism.
Call Number: 338.4791 INT
Publication Date: 2011-09-22
Key Concepts in Tourism Research by David Botterill; Vincent PlatenkampThis book walks students through the selection and application of research methods within tourism. The authors introduce the relevant language and theory of key methodologies and then develop them using strategic literature review and the inclusion of international examples which relate directly to tourism. The historical and philosophical context of each method is then carefully laid out alongside the practical application of the technique. Each concept sets the historical and philosophical context of a method alongside the practical application of the technique.
Call Number: 338.4791072 BOT
Publication Date: 2012-05-02
Researching Tourism, Leisure and Hospitality for Your Dissertation by Peter MasonResearch methods can be a daunting topic - Researching Tourism, Leisure and Hospitality for your Dissertation is a unique text that takes away the stress, worry and confusion by providing a step-by-step, user friendly guide to all you need to know to successfully research and compile your dissertation.Researching Tourism, Leisure and Hospitality for your Dissertation provides a discussion of quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods approaches, looking at key differences and similarities. A critical evaluation of these different research approaches is provided and, importantly, a discussion on selecting the appropriate approach(es) for your dissertation, including a discussion and evaluation of mixed methods research. It takes the reader from the initial idea and topics, through to lit reviews, methodology, presenting and analysing results and successfully making conclusions. Unlike other texts available, the text includes case studies based on the author's own research to demonstrate different research approaches and techniques, providing an opportunity for criticism and a discussion on 'learning from mistakes.'Divided into 7 chapters Researching Tourism, Leisure and Hospitality for your Dissertation discusses:- Developing your research topic - including the ethics statement;- Literature review - how to do it and how to get the most from it;- Methodology - which approach (es) are most suitable, with clear links between ontology, epistemology and methodology and how these concepts relate to the actual dissertation;- Presenting Results - how this can be done clearly and coherently- Analysing and Discussing Results - whether they are qualitative, quantitative or mixed methods;- Conclusions: your findings, your limitations and your recommendations.A must-have text for all students on how best to conduct research, compile your findings and to present them in the resulting dissertation. Peter Mason is Professor of Tourism Management, Bedfordshire University, Visiting Professor of Tourism, London South Bank University and has a fractional position as Lecturer, London Metropolitan University.
Call Number: 338.4791072 MAS
Publication Date: 2014-05-31
Research Methods for Leisure and Tourism by A. J. VealNow in its fourth edition, Research Methods for Leisure and Tourism has quickly become the ultimate reference text for both students undertaking academic research and practising managers. This book combines comprehensive coverage of a wide variety of qualitative and quantitative research methods with in-depth step-by step guidance through research software including Excel, SPSS and NVivo.
Call Number: 790.072 VEA
Publication Date: 2011-05-05
The Routledge Handbook of Tourism Research by Kaye Sung Chon; William C. Gartner (Editor); Cathy H. C. Hsu (Editor)The Routledge Handbook of Tourism Research is a compendium of some of the most relevant issues affecting tourism development today. The topics addressed in this book provide some new thinking for those involved in tourism research. This book takes the reader from the beginnings of tourism research to a discussion of emerging forms of tourism and selected examples of tourism development. The underlying theoretical dimensions are reviewed, analysed and discussed from a number of perspectives. This book brings together leading researchers, many of whom are members of the International Academy for the Study of Tourism, to discuss tourism today and its future. The works included in this volume are diverse, in terms of geographical context, research methodology, root discipline, and perspective. This book represents studies based in Europe, North America, Oceania, and Asia. Research methodologies include both quantitative and qualitative. Both macro and micro issues are discussed from the economic, psychological, sociological, political science, marketing, and other perspectives, which reflect the interdisciplinary nature of tourism studies. This book is divided into 6 sections. Section 1 considers the foundations for tourism research. Section 2 discusses the implications for destination management and section 3 discusses planning for tourism development. Section 4 covers human capital for tourism development. And finally, section 5 evaluates emerging forms of tourism and then section 6 offers insights into tourism evolution. It offers the reader a comprehensive synthesis of this field, conveying the latest thinking and research. The text will provide an invaluable resource for all those with an interest in tourism research. This is essential reading for students, researchers & academics of Tourism as well as those of related studies in particular Leisure, Hospitality & Development Studies.
EndNote is used by millions of researchers, scholarly writers, students, and librarians to search online bibliographic databases, organise references and related files, and to create bibliographies instantly. The software has to be installed on your computer properly in order to work correctly with word processing programs, and this varies depending on your operating system, word processor and platform. It has frequent upgrades that offer significant new features. It is important to use the manual, and you need to have the software on the computer you are using.
SPIN provides intuitive and easily customizable access to the most extensive research funding opportunity database on earth. Tools are provided that are geared towards both individual and administrative users, and SPIN provides both active searching as well as automated, daily opportunity notifications.
Contact Teresa Smit +27 (0)18 299 4853 at the Research Office for more information.
The Institute is an independent think-tank producing research, policy critiques, and risk analysis on South Africa. Their fields of expertise include the economy, business, labour, education, demographics, living conditions, crime, security, healthcare, land reform, service delivery, politics, and government affairs.