Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search in the Library Catalogue and Beyond
Search the catalogue for books, eBooks, theses, DVD's, and more.
eBooks via the Library Catalogue
South Africa E-learning Platform via Snapplify
Access our digital textbooks, resources and library books. Follow the instruction in this PDF document.
Search for resources at your library and in the collections of the world's libraries.
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
eNotes is an educational resource used by millions of teachers and students.
We have thousands of literature study guides, lesson plans, literary criticism, and a vibrant community that we invite you to join.
Britannica Academic Edition
Britannica is online in e-books and on mobile devices. Britannica is about math, science, and social studies. Britannica is for the 2nd-grader learning math, the teacher explaining the laws of gravity, and the lifelong learner trying to understand the latest political crisis.
Britannica Image Quest
Now you can enjoy easy online access to more than two million images from one convenient site: Britannica Image Quest. All images are rights-cleared for noncommercial educational use, great for teacher lessons, plans, assignments activities, and whiteboards, student reports and projects, or school Web sites, newsletters, newspapers, flyers, and bulletins.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world’s biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
PharosOnline is the focus of South African subject dictionaries and glossaries - a one-stop reference for all terminology users.
Woordeboek van die Afrikaanse Taal (WAT)
The most complete and authoritative dictionary on the Afrikaans language.
African Digital Library (ADL)
The African Digital Library (ADL) is a collection of electronic books (eBooks) that can be accessed and used free of charge by any person living on the African continent. Individuals can access this library from any PC that is connected to the Internet in Africa.
Academic Complete, a growing eBook collection that spans all academic subject areas.
Quantitative Methods in Tourism Economics by
Call Number: 338.4791 (Online)
Publication Date: 2012-12-13
Tourism economics is partly based on established principles from the economics discipline, but it also incorporates elements from sociology, psychology, organization theory and ecology. It has over the years turned into an appealing multi-disciplinary oriented approach to the understanding of the impacts of leisure time in a modern society, including cultural heritage, sustainable quality of life, and industrial organization of the hospitality industry. The increasing dynamics in the tourist industry and its worldwide effects will continue to attract the attention of both the research and the policy sector in the years to come. Rather than speculating on non-observed facts, there is a clear need for evidence-based research in order to map out the complex dynamics of the tourist industry. The present volume comprises novel studies - mainly of a quantitative-analytical nature - on the supply, demand and contextual aspects of modern tourism. It contains a sound mix of theory, methodology, policy and case studies on various tourism issues in different parts of the world.
Trends and Issues in Global Tourism 2011 by
Call Number: 338.4791 (Online)
Publication Date: 2011-02-04
This book provides insights into important trends and future scenarios in the global tourism and travel industry. It analyses today's challenges in the aviation and hospitality industry, in destination management, and in marketing and distribution management. New empirical data on general travel behaviour and the latest consumer trends are also presented. The contributors to this book are well-known individuals from important tourism, travel and consulting firms (e.g. BCD Travel, Öger Tours, Booz and Company, GfK, IPK International) and researchers from universities in Switzerland, United Kingdom, the Netherlands, and Germany. In addition institutes specializing in future research highlight important travel trends. Corporate social responsibility is one of the top themes to-be and therefore a focus of this book, offering insights into the concept of CSR, empirical data on consumer requests, corporate strategy issues and financial investment implications.