It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Geo- and Spatial Sciences: Sources
Welcome to the Library guide for Geo- and Spatial Sciences. Here you will find a OneStop service to assist you in your studies or research at the NWU.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Africa-Wide is a multidisciplinary database, and with access to over 2,4 million records is unique in its extensive coverage on the subject of Africa; including information written on and about Africa, and offering access to African research.
CAB Abstracts (1973 to Present), produced by CABI Publishing, covers the significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. Coverage dates back to 1973.
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1 957 000 records from more than 1 700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1 125 active core titles). The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals and 120 monographs.
IMD World Competitiveness Online is based on the leading annual report on the competitiveness of nations, the IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook (IMD WCY). Published since 1989, IMD WCY has been ranking and analysing how a nations environment sustains the competitiveness of its enterprises.
Produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists this database includes information from over 750 pharmaceutical medical and health-related journals published worldwide since 1970. International Pharmaceutical Abstracts covers the entire spectrum of drug therapy and pharmaceutical information including current health-related drug literature.
A comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7 500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3 300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals and includes virtually all areas of science, technology and social sciences.
JSTOR offers a high-quality interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1 000 leading academic journals across the humanities social sciences and sciences as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4 800 current biomedical journals.
ScienceDirect is a leading full text scientific database offering articles/chapters from more than 2 500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11 000 books. There are currently more than 9,5 million articles/chapters in a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0,5 million additions per year. How to search on ScienceDirect.
Waters & Oceans Worldwide combines databases on all facets of international water research. With excellent world coverage this database includes research ranging from coastal and offshore engineering to pollution and water treatment. With over 1 854 600 citations and abstracts dating back to the 1970s this resource is essential for those dealing with all aspects of water and water-related subjects.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384 000 records as well as Open Access full text for more than 4 700 records.
May not be distributed to non-NWU users
Limited sharing for scholarly puposes
Download and save limited portions
Use for non-commercial purposes only
Systematic copying expressly prohibited
Print single copies for personal use
The most comprehensive searchable collection of full text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa, available online. How to search on African Journals.
Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP) covers indexed articles from more than 900 South African periodicals. Specialist periodicals are indexed fully whereas general and popular periodicals are indexed selectively. This database is compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa.
SA Media covers more than 120 South African newspapers and periodicals. More than 500 articles are selected daily, categorized according to 22 categories and indexed in Afrikaans and English. Copyright University of the Free State and listed publications.
Juta is South Africa’s leading provider of trusted legal and regulatory information and the largest local publisher of quality student textbooks in the fields of Commerce, Accounting, Communications, Social Science, Health, Education and the Law.