LibGuides: Theology & Ancient Language and Text Studies: Articles/Journals

Find a specific journal article

WorldCat A-Z List
2. Search journal title on the A-Z list to determine electronic availability.
WorldCat Discovery Search
3. Search on the catalogue to determine printed availability.
How to search for textbooks

4. If not available through NWU, request through interlibrary loans. (Available for staff and postgraduates.)

LibKey - find the full text of articles on Google

LibKey Nomad: Browser Extensions
- This link opens in a new window
What do the LibKey access buttons mean?
- Download PDF - This takes you directly to the PDF article.
- Article Link - The library does not have access to the direct PDF link. In this case, the button will take you to a publisher page in case of open access or to the record of the article's database, where you can click on the full text. This can be because:
  - The publisher only has a .html copy and not a PDF copy.
  - Journal aggregators (platforms) like EBSCO or Proquest do not yet support direct PDF linking.
- Access Options - The library does not have immediate access to this article. It takes you to a page where you can access it via Interlibrary Loan.
  LibKey Manuscript pdf button example
- Manuscript PDF - Usually delivers an Open Access document; if there is no open access document, it provides a green open access document. This can be from an Institutional Repository or a pre-published version.

EbscoHost - Find information on a specific subject

EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
For Theology select these international databases from EbscoHost, and add those applicable to your subject:
- Academic Search Complete
- Africa-Wide Information
- Atla Religion Database
- eBook Collection
- eBook Open Access (OA) Collection
- E-Journals
- MasterFILE Premier
- New Testament abstracts
- Old Testament Abstracts
- OpenDissertations
- Philosopher's Index
- SocINDEX
For Languages add :
- MLA International Bibliography.
For Counseling add:
- APA PsycARTICLES,
- APA PsycINFO and
- Health Source - Consumer Edition.

Open Access Journals

South African scholarly journals available through open access (full text) can be found in the Directory of Open Access Journals (SA). Currently these journals for Theology and Classics are included: Akroterion; HTS theological studies/teologiese studies; In die Skriflig/In luce Verbi; Koers: bulletin for Christian scholarship/bulletin vir Christelike wetenskap; Nederduitse Gereformeerde teologiese tydskrif; Old Testament essays; Scriptura; Verbum et Ecclesia.

Database access

Username: University number
Password: eFundi password (own unique password )

If you don't have a password, create one here (click on "forgot password").
(Default password is ID number/passport number@Nwu)
Change it here to a password of you choice.
More information about passwords
Consult this manual should you experience problems with access.
Always include your university number in communication.

Google Scholar Search

Use the advanced search option to search for more specific results in GoogleScholar. Accessing GoogleScholar from the Library's webpage or LibGuide will give more results in full text than going directly to GoogleScholar. Search for results not available in full text on the Library's databases.

Other databases

African Journals
- This link opens in a new window
SA Media
- This link opens in a new window
Index to South African Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
Sabinet's African Archives
- This link opens in a new window
SA Media
- This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
How to find your H-index in Scopus
- YouTube video: How to check H-index in Scopus, Web of Science, and Google Scholar
How to find Altmetrics in Scopus
Track your online research activity
- Altmetrics from Scopus will only appear when data is available.
- Scopus captures the following data:
  - total number of times popular media mentions the article
  - total number of mentions of an article in a blog, Tweets, or other social media posts
  - citation impact as compared to articles of similar subjects
  - if or when it is added to Mendeley library
  - mentions in Wikipedia articles
  - Video: How to view document metrics in Scopus
  - Video: Overview of journal metrics in Scopus
  - Video: How to assess an author's impact in Scopus
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
How to find your H-index in Web of Science
- YouTube video: How to check H-index in Scopus, Web of Science, and Google Scholar