Skip to Main Content

Tourism Management: Research/Open Scholarship

Welcome to the Library guide for Tourism Management. Here you will find a OneStop service to assist you in your studies or research at the NWU

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary Loans (ILL)
Interlibrary Loans (ILL) provides a service to postgraduate students and researchers by obtaining material not owned by the North-West University Libraries. The Library provides documents to other national and international libraries through a nationwide interlibrary loan network.

Research Books

Field Guide to Case Study Research in Tourism, Hospitality and Leisure by Kenneth F. Hyde (Editor); Chris Ryan (Editor); Arch G. Woodside (Editor, Series edited by)
Call Number: 338.4791072 FIE
ISBN: 9781780527420
Publication Date: 2012-06-26
Fieldwork in Tourism by Michael C. Hall (Editor)
Call Number: 338.4791 FIE
ISBN: 9780415589192
Publication Date: 2010-10-20
Frameworks for Tourism Research by Douglas G. Pearce
Call Number: 338.4791 PEA
ISBN: 9781845938987
Publication Date: 2012-06-29
Handbook of Research Methods in Tourism by Larry Dwyer (Editor); Alison Gill (Editor); Neelu Seetaram (Editor)
Call Number: 338.4791 HAN
ISBN: 9781781001288
Publication Date: 2012-08-31
An Introduction to Visual Research Methods in Tourism by Donna Chambers (Editor); Tijana Rakić (Editor)
Call Number: 338.4791 INT
ISBN: 9780415570046
Publication Date: 2011-09-22
Key Concepts in Tourism Research by David Botterill; Vincent Platenkamp
Call Number: 338.4791072 BOT
ISBN: 1848601751
Publication Date: 2012-05-02
Researching Tourism, Leisure and Hospitality for Your Dissertation by Peter Mason
Call Number: 338.4791072 MAS
ISBN: 9781908999917
Publication Date: 2014-05-31
Research Methods for Leisure and Tourism by A. J. Veal
Call Number: 790.072 VEA
ISBN: 9780273717508
Publication Date: 2011-05-05
The Routledge Handbook of Tourism Research by William C. Gartner (Editor); Cathy H. C. Hsu (Editor)
Call Number: 338.4791072 ROU
ISBN: 9780789037046
Publication Date: 2012-08-28

Citation Managers

EndNote
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of researchers, scholarly writers, students, and librarians use EndNote to search online bibliographic databases, organise references and related files, and create bibliographies instantly.
- The software has to be installed on your computer properly to work correctly with word processing programs, and this varies depending on your operating system, word processor and platform.
- It has frequent upgrades that offer significant new features. It is important to use the manual, and you need to have the software on your computer.
How to Download Endnote
EndNote support is only available to NWU postgraduate students and staff. We recommend that undergraduate students make use of Referella.
Latest EndNote version:
- EndNote 21 - Windows
  After you click the download link, you will be asked for your CAS username and password.
- EndNote 21 - Mac
  After you click the download link, you will be asked for your CAS username and password.
Follow the manual below on how to download and extract the EndNote files:
- How to download EndNote 21
The download files are also available via:
- Students: The product is installed on Citrix-compliant devices and should be available on the Information Commons and Lab computers. Contact your Student IT Support to access Citrix on your device.
- Staff: To download the software, use the IT App Portal or Citrix.
Templates
- NWU Style Templates for Postgraduates

MS Word Postgraduate template
Use the template to simplify creating your Dissertation/Mini Dissertation/Thesis.

Research Commons

Plagiarism and Copyright

Plagiarism and copyright

Bibliographic Styles

NWU Referencing guide 2020
Guidelines for bibliography and bibliographic references. This document includes the NWU Harvard style, the APA style and the NWU Law House style.
NWU-Verwysingsgids 2020
Riglyne vir bibliografiese verwysings en bronnelyste. Die dokument sluit in die NWU Harvard styl, APA styl (7de uitg.) en NWU Regte se huisstyl.

Reference Sources in General

Oxford Reference Online
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, covering 25 different subject areas and bringing together 2 million digitized entries from Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.
SPIN
- This link opens in a new window
World's Largest Database of Sponsored Funding Opportunities.
Contact Teresa Smit +27 (0)18 299 4853 at the Research Support for more information.

South African Institute of Race Relations
The Institute is an independent think-tank producing research, policy critiques, and risk analysis on South Africa. Their fields of expertise include the economy, business, labour, education, demographics, living conditions, crime, security, healthcare, land reform, service delivery, politics, and government affairs.
Stateman's Yearbook Online
World events
more...less...
Phone +27 (0)18 299 2802 if you are asked a password.