Library databases serve as comprehensive repositories of scholarly information, offering researchers a vast array of resources for in-depth exploration and analysis.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Borrow ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more from our library! Libby is the newer library reading app by OverDrive, and it is loved by millions of readers worldwide!
The most frequently-used databases
This link opens in a new windowSabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform.
This link opens in a new windowThis is a digital archive that collects, preserves and distributes research material created by members of NWU. The NWU-IR aims to increase the visibility, availability and impact of the research output of the North-West University through Open Access, search engine indexing and harvesting by several initiatives.
This link opens in a new windowThe DMP Tool is a free, open-source, application that helps researchers create data management plans (DMPs).
This link opens in a new windowFind eBooks and use them on the device of your choice. The North-West University Libraries collect eBooks from various companies, and each has different rules regarding use, download, printing, etc.
This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost databases are the most used premium online information resources for thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
This link opens in a new windowContains over 180 titles in the fields of management information science and engineering.
This link opens in a new windowMillions of researchers, scholarly writers, students, and librarians use EndNote to search online bibliographic databases, organise references and related files, and create bibliographies instantly.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies preprint, repositories, universities, and other scholarly organisations.
This link opens in a new windowJSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
This link opens in a new windowJuta is South Africa’s leading provider of trusted legal and regulatory information and the largest local publisher of quality student textbooks in the fields of Commerce, Accounting, Communications, Social Science, Health, Education and Law.
This link opens in a new windowLexisNexis provides access to SA legislation, cases and commentary.
ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor Identification) is an open, not-for-profit organisation that aims to supply a persistent and unique identifier - an ORCID ID - to any individual involved in research, scholarship, and innovation activities.
This link opens in a new windowPressReader provides access to 7,000 top newspapers and magazines, including the Sunday Times, The Citizen, Good Housekeeping, Destiny, finweek, Huisgenoot, Sowetan, Elle, Mail & Guardian, and Cosmopolitan.
This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. There are databases with a subject focus like Medline, BIOSIS Citation Index, and Zoological Record; databases with a document type focus like Derwent Innovations Index (patents) and Data Citation Index (datasets and data studies); and databases highlighting content from regions around the world.
Alphabetical title list of electronic full-text journals and eBooks packages to which the library has access.
WorldCat Local lets you find everything you need with one simple search interface. Its a way for you to locate books, articles, journals, videos, and other items of interest in your library or other libraries.
