Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Journal Databases
EBSCOhost databases are the most-used premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide representing millions of end-users.
Recommended for Education Sciences:
Academic Search Premier
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
SocINDEX with Full Text
Teacher Reference Center
JSTOR offers a high-quality interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1 000 leading academic journals across the humanities social sciences and sciences as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
African Journals (previously SAePublications)
The most comprehensive searchable collection of full text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa, available online. How to search on African Journals
ScienceDirect is a leading full text scientific database offering articles/chapters from more than 2 500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11 000 books. There are currently more than 9,5 million articles/chapters in a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0,5 million additions per year. How to search on ScienceDirect
Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.
Web of Science
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.
Journal Database Tutorials
Click here if you are looking for a specific database or subject.
A-Z Publication Finder
Alphabetical title list of electronic full text journals and e-books to which the library has access/subscribes to.
Accredited journals are recognised research output which meet specified criteria and therefore qualify for subsidisation by the Department of Education (DoE).
Boloka Institutional Repository
A digital archive that collects, preserves and distributes research material created by members of the NWU.
Includes links to online resources that include dictionaries, encyclopedia, statistics, yearbooks, etc.
If we don't have access to the article, it can be requested via interlibrary loans.
ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor Identification) is an open, not-for-profit organisation with the aim of supplying a persistent and unique identifier - an ORCID iD - to any individual who is involved in research, scholarship and innovation activities.