When a dictionary is consulted purely to clarify the meaning of words or to translate words, it does not have to be included in the reference list. If, however, definitions or explanations of words are quoted, the dictionary must be indicated. This also applies where contradictory explanations of terms are involved.
When the dictionary has an author or authors (thus not editor(s) or compiler(s)), the text reference and entry in the reference list are handled the same as a book with an author.
Peters, P. 2013. The Cambridge dictionary of English grammar. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
Text:
The term morpheme refers to “the minimal unit of linguistic meaning, a form to which a meaning may be attached” (Peters, 2013:151).
Use the editor’s surname in the text reference, the same way as a text reference for a book. In the reference list entry, after the surname(s) of the editor(s) or compiler(s) qualify it with the appropriate abbreviation for editor(s) or compiler(s), e.g. ed. / eds. or comp. / comps.
Danker, F.W., ed. 2000. A Greek-English lexicon of the New Testament and other early Christian literature. 3rd ed. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press.
Text reference:
(Danker, 2000:933).
Treat this the same as collected works or encyclopedias.
Brokaw, D. 1990. Character and personality. In: Hunter, R.J., ed. Dictionary of pastoral care and counseling. Nashville, TN: Abingdon Press. pp. 136-137.
Text reference:
(Brokaw, 1990:136).
The same rule applies for dictionaries with authors or editors/compilers as mentioned in 1 and 2.
Give the precise internet adress (URL) of the dictionary as well as the date of access.
Merriam-Webster Inc. 2019. Merriam-Webster dictionary. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/palimpsest Date of access: 7 Jan. 2019.
Text reference:
The term palimpsest is defined by the Merriam-Webster online dictionary as “writing material used one or more times after earlier writing has been erased” (Merriam-Webster Inc., 2019).
Merriam-Webster Inc. 2019. Merriam-Webster dictionary (Version 4.3.3) [Mobile application].
Text reference:
Nanotechnology is the science of working with atoms and molecules to build microscopic devices (Merriam-Webster Inc., 2019).