Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
eBooks via the Library Catalogue
South Africa E-learning Platform via Snapplify
Access our digital textbooks, resources and library books. Follow the instruction in this PDF document.
Search the catalogue for books, eBooks, theses and more.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies preprint, repositories, universities, and other scholarly organisations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. How to search on Google Scholar
Select the following databases on EbscoHost: Academic Search Premier ; Africa-Wide Information ; E-Journals ; Literary Reference Center ; MasterFile Premier ; MLA International Bibliography ; SocINDEX with Full Text
The most comprehensive searchable collection of full text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa, available online.
Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP)(Sabinet)
Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP) covers indexed articles from more than 900 South African periodicals. Specialist periodicals are indexed fully whereas general and popular periodicals are indexed selectively. This database is compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa.
Web of Science
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.
JSTOR offers a high-quality interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1 000 leading academic journals across the humanities social sciences and sciences as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
ScienceDirect is a leading full text scientific database offering articles/chapters from more than 2 500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11 000 books. There are currently more than 9,5 million articles/chapters in a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0,5 million additions per year. How to search on ScienceDirect
Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.
Interlibrary loans (ILL)
Provides a service to postgraduates and researchers by obtaining material, not owned by Potchefstroom Campus Libraries, from other libraries in South Africa and from abroad
A-Z Publication Finder
Alphabetical title list of electronic full-text journals and e-books to which the library has access to.
SACat reflects the collection of libraries in Southern Africa and contains bibliographic information referring to books, periodicals, audiovisual items and other information material.
SA Media (Sabinet)
SA Media covers more than 120 South African newspapers and periodicals. More than 500 articles are selected daily, categorized according to 22 categories, and indexed in Afrikaans and English.
South African newspapers, not subscribed by the library
Theses and Dissertations @ NWU
- Theses and dissertations completed at the NWU since 2004 are available electronically via Boloka.Theses and dissertations before 2004 will be considered for digitization upon request from users.
- Access to the complete theses (print) collection is available via the online Library Catalogue (Search tip: Change "Material Type" to "Thesis")
South African multilingual dictionary by
Call Number: R413 SOU
Publication Date: 2014
This user-friendly South African Multilingual Dictionary will empower you to reach out to speakers of any of the 11 South African languages: Afrikaans, isiNdebele, isiXhosa, isiZulu, Sepedi, Sesotho, Setswana, Tshivenda and Xitsonga.
Multilingual Illustrated Dictionary by
Call Number: R413 BEN
Publication Date: 2006
The Multilingual Illustrated Dictionary is a seven-language glossary, fully illustrated with colour pictures and photographs. The seven Southern African languages are English, IsiZulu, Sesotho, IsiXhosa, Setswana, Afrikaans and Sepedi. Suitable for school, home and work, this valuable resource book offers a unique opportunity for all South Africans to broaden their vocabulary and to learn about each other's languages. For easy reference, the dictionary is divided into 12 themes, a mini grammar section and a multilingual index. Each teme is fully illustrated and labeled in English, IsiZulu, Sesotho, IsiXhosa, Setswana, Afrikaans and Sepedi. The temes are concluded with useful phrases.
English-Afrikaans-Northern Sotho-Tswana Aid by
Call Number: R413 UYS
Publication Date: 2008
The English-Afrikaans-Northern Sotho-Tswana Aid is a handy reference work for those wishing to improve their knowledge of one or more of the four languages included. Translations for commonly used words and phrases are given in the four languages at a glance. The words and phrases are arranged in different themes such as days of the week, the months of the year, shopping, religion, food and drink. Ideal for use in the classroom, office or for self-study at home.
African Writers Series
This online edition includes over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfictional prose including works by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek, and Tayeb Salih.
Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Literature
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Literature comprises individual titles covering key literary genres and periods. Each title is available individually in print whilst this online version brings them together into one ground-breaking resource which is easy to access and use.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world’s biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
PharosOnline is the focus of South African subject dictionaries and glossaries - a one-stop reference for all terminology users.