Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search in the Library Collection and Beyond
Search the catalogue for books, eBooks, theses, DVD's, and more.
Search for resources at your library and in the collections of the world's libraries.
Africa-Wide is a multidisciplinary database, and with access to over 2,4 million records is unique in its extensive coverage on the subject of Africa; including information written on and about Africa, and offering access to African research.
CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals providing full text for nearly 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Full text coverage dates back to 1981.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making.
The E-Journals database provides article-level access for thousands of e-journals available through EBSCO Subscription Services. For users with a valid subscription, EBSCO’s SmartLinks technology provides direct links to publishers’ content.
EBSCOhost eBook collection
Browse our collection and transfer eBooks to your portable device or view instantly with our web based reader. Collections included in this product: Aging and Gerontology, Business, Disaster Management, Education, Electrical Engineering, Language and Literature, Leadership Management, Mechanical Engineering, Media and Communication Studies, Nursing, Philosophy, Psychology, Sports Medicine and Physical Therapy, and Theology.
EBSCOhost databases are the most-used premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide representing millions of end-users. How to search on EBSCOhost
Emerald Insight Journals
Contains over 180 titles in the fields of management information science and engineering.
ERIC is an index for all education topics. ERIC indexes journal articles in 1 000 education-related journals. Abstracts are provided. Some full text journal articles are available. ERIC indexes ERIC Documents. These are education materials not published elsewhere such as curriculum guides, various research reports, and conference papers.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Covers medical disciplines and information regarding prescription drugs, herbal remedies, and nutritional supplements.
Contains 650 full text journals and abstracts and indexing for more than 850 journals and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide
Web of Science
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.
JSTOR offers a high-quality interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1 000 leading academic journals across the humanities social sciences and sciences as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4 800 current biomedical journals.
ScienceDirect is a leading full text scientific database offering articles/chapters from more than 2 500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11 000 books. There are currently more than 9,5 million articles/chapters in a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0,5 million additions per year. How to search on ScienceDirect
Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.
South African Resources
Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP)
Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP) covers indexed articles from more than 900 South African periodicals. Specialist periodicals are indexed fully whereas general and popular periodicals are indexed selectively. This database is compiled under the ownership of the National Library of South Africa.
African Journals (previously SAePublications)
The most comprehensive searchable collection of full text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa, available online. How to search on African Journals
SA Media covers more than 120 South African newspapers and periodicals. More than 500 articles are selected daily, categorized according to 22 categories and indexed in Afrikaans and English. How to search on SA Media
LexisNexis provides access to SA legislation, cases and commentary. Please contact Christine.Bronkhorst@nwu.ac.za
if you need a username and password.
Juta is South Africa’s leading provider of trusted legal and regulatory information and the largest local publisher of quality student textbooks in the fields of Commerce, Accounting, Communications, Social Science, Health, Education and the Law.
Accredited journals are a South African research phenomenon. The Department of Education wanted to raise the quality of research in South Africa. They decided to recommend specific peer-reviewed International and South African journals for publication. As a further incentive, the Department of Education subsidises every article published in these journals. These journals are subsequently known as accredited journals.
A list of all Accredited Journals can be found here.
Abbreviations for Journal Titles
Postgraduate Training Calendar