Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: Reference works

Welcome to the Library guide for Psychology. Here you will find a OneStop service to assist you in your studies or research at the NWU.

Reference Books

Reference books or Encyclopaedias provide quick insight on a topic and helps to provide a broader view of the topic.  Their Dewey numbers correlate with their open shelf partners, but have an R preceding the Dewey number.  You will also find quite a number of Dictionaries on your subject field among the Reference Books.

Ask at the Information Desk for more information.

Some examples are:
R150.1519503 ENC    Encyclopedia of statistics in behavioral science / editors-in-chief, Brian S. Everitt, David C. Howell.
R150.19 ENC    Encyclopedia of positive psychology / edited by Shane J. Lopez.
R150.19 ENC    The encyclopedia of positive psychology / edited by Shane J. Lopez.
R150.1952 FRE    The Freud encyclopedia : theory, therapy, and culture / Edward Erwin, editor.
R150.1954 JUN    The red book = Liber novus / C.G. Jung   edited by Sonu Shamdasani   preface by Ulrich Hoerni   translated by Mark Kyburz, John Peck, and Sonu Shamdasani.
R150.3 APA    APA dictionary of psychology / Gary R. VandenBos, editor in chief.
R150.3 CAM    The Cambridge dictionary of psychology / general editor, David Matsumoto.
R150.3 COL    A dictionary of psychology / Andrew M. Colman.
R150.3 COR    The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology / edited by Irving B. Weiner, W. Edward Craighead.
R150.3 ENC    Encyclopaedic dictionary of psychology / Graham Davey.
R150.3 MUL    Multilingual glossary of psychology terms / [translation by Words & CO. Language Services   project editor, Tashne Singh].
R150.3 REB    The Penguin dictionary of psychology / Arthur S. Reber and Emily S. Reber.
R150.3 RIC    Psychology : the key concepts / Graham Richards.
R153.03 ENC    Encyclopedia of consciousness / editor-in-chief, William P. Banks.
R153.03 MIT    The MIT encyclopedia of the cognitive sciences / edited by Robert A. Wilson and Frank C. Keil.
R153.35 ENC    Encyclopedia of creativity / editors-in-chief, Mark A. Runco, Steven R. Pritzker.
R153.4303 WAR    Thinking from A to Z / Nigel Warburton.
R153.703 ENC    Encyclopedia of perception / [edited by] E. Bruce Goldstein.
R155.26 HUS    Making a difference by being yourself : using your personality type at work and in relationships / Gregory E. Huszczo.
R155.82 ENC    Encyclopedia of multicultural psychology / edited by Yo Jackson.
R616.8003 LEX    Lexicon of psychiatry, neurology, and the neurosciences / editor, Frank J. Ayd, Jr.
R616.8303 ENC    Encyclopedia of movement disorders / editors-in-chief, Leo Verhagen Metman and Katie Kompoliti.
R616.89075 DIA    Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-IV-TR.
R616.89075 DIA    Diagnostic criteria from DSM-IV-TR / American Psychiatric Association.
R616.891403 ENC    Encyclopedia of psychotherapy / editors-in-chief, Michel Hersen, William Sledge.
R616.9792 HUB    Encyclopedic dictionary of AIDS-related terminology / Jeffrey T. Huber, Mary L. Gillaspy.
R616.98003 ENC    Encyclopedia of stress / editor-in-chief, George Fink.

Google

Google Web Search

Dictionaries