LibGuides: Accounting Sciences: Home

Getting started

Welcome to the subject guide for the School of Accounting Sciences. This LibGuide will help you to find relevant academic information on your topic. If you struggle to find information you're welcome to contact your Faculty Librarian for assistance.

Follow these steps to start searching:

1. Identify your search terms

2. Find synonyms or alternative words to search

3. Choose your database to search in under the Articles/Journals tab

4. Find books, e-books, theses/dissertations under the Books tab

5. Find subject-related data under the Subject Databases tab

6. For research related info like EndNote, Accredited journals, Interlibrary Loans etc. go to the Research Support tab

7. Training videos and links are available under the Training tab

Library Services

Circulation Services:

Information Services:

Referella

Click here for the Harvard, APA and Law Reference Guides.

Academic Department

For information on your course contact your school.

Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences

Library Events

All training events

Training evaluation form

Library News

Help

ORCID
ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor Identification) is an open, not-for-profit organisation that aims to supply a persistent and unique identifier - an ORCID ID - to any individual involved in research, scholarship, and innovation activities.
Increase your visibility
Why you should use ORCID
- Link all your publications with one unique persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
- Research outputs uploaded to the NWU-IR (Boloka) are automatically pushed to the author's ORCID record.
- You can add all your other publications through Google Scholar, Scopus, and Web of Science.
- Link your ORCID account to every research item you publish so people can easily track or locate your other research outputs.
How to create your ORCID on the NWU Manuscript System
Step 1: Register for an ORCID
- Follow this link to the NWU Manuscript system to create a new ORCID ID or link an existing one.
- If you are unsure whether you already have an ORCID ID, search the ORCID registry on their website for your name.
- Register/log in using your CAS username and password, which are the same as those you use to log into eFundi and campus computers.
- Click here for a step-by-step guide through the registration and linking process.
Step 2: Add your info
- Complete your profile by adding a biography, additional email addresses (including ones used previously), name variants, affiliations, and keywords to make it discoverable.
- Privacy settings can be changed for different aspects of the ORCID record, such as who can view the Biography, Education and Employment history.
- Existing outputs can be added to your ORCID record using search and link tools, which provide integrations between ORCID and various external platforms.
- Outputs that are not automatically linked can be added manually or imported using BibTex files.
- Click here for instructions on adding Scopus, Web of Science, and Google Scholar publications to your ORCID profile.
- Funding information can be manually added to the ORCID record or through the provided search and link tool.
- Log in periodically to update changes to the ORCID record.
Step 3: Use your ORCID iD
- Include your ORCID ID wherever possible. When submitting outputs, grant applications, or other research, scholarship, and innovation activities, include it on any personal websites you might have.
- You can also include it in your CV, social media platforms, and even as part of your email signature.
- Existing identifiers from other providers can be linked to the ORCID record, such as Elsevier Author Profile and Web of Science ResearcherID. Contact our Research and Open Scholarship Librarians with any questions or comments.
The NWU and ORCID
Recognising the importance of research visibility and discoverability, author disambiguation, and increased funder and publisher requirements for ORCID iDs, the NWU became an ORCID member institution, making it possible to integrate existing NWU systems with the ORCID registry.
Central to the NWU-ORCID integration is the NWU Manuscript system, which was created to facilitate creating (new) or linking (existing) ORCID IDs while granting the NWU permission to push updates to the individuals' ORCID records.
The NWU Institutional Repository (NWU-IR) was the first integration with the NWU manuscript systems. Research outputs uploaded to the NWU-IR are automatically pushed to the ORCID record of the author(s) of the output.

NWU Referencing guide 2020
Guidelines for bibliography and bibliographic references. This document includes the NWU Harvard style, the APA style and the NWU Law House style.

EndNote
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of researchers, scholarly writers, students, and librarians use EndNote to search online bibliographic databases, organise references and related files, and create bibliographies instantly.
- The software has to be installed on your computer properly to work correctly with word processing programs, and this varies depending on your operating system, word processor and platform.
- It has frequent upgrades that offer significant new features. It is important to use the manual, and you need to have the software on your computer.
How to Download Endnote
EndNote support is only available to NWU postgraduate students and staff. We recommend that undergraduate students make use of Referella.
Latest EndNote version:
- EndNote 21 - Windows
  After you click the download link, you will be asked for your CAS username and password.
- EndNote 21 - Mac
  After you click the download link, you will be asked for your CAS username and password.
Follow the manual below on how to download and extract the EndNote files:
- How to download EndNote 21
The download files are also available via:
- Students: The product is installed on Citrix-compliant devices and should be available on the Information Commons and Lab computers. Contact your Student IT Support to access Citrix on your device.
- Staff: To download the software, use the IT App Portal or Citrix.
Templates
- NWU Style Templates for Postgraduates

EndNote: Step by step guide

Referella explains referencing
Explore referencing in a fun way

Accredited Journals
Articles in Accredited Journals are recognised research outputs which meet specified criteria and, therefore, qualify for subsidisation by the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET). This database is compiled from the seven lists (2024) on the DHET web page.
Do you need more information? Are you uncertain about any title? Contact Teresa Smit (Research Support) at +27 (0)18 299 4853 or teresa.smit@nwu.ac.za.
NWU Manual for Higher Degrees Studies
The Senate of North-West University (NWU) approved this Manual for Higher Degree Studies on 1 September 2020 for use by the university's master’s and doctoral students. The manual is a binding policy document that provides guidelines regarding the policies, rules, and processes involved in master’s and doctoral studies at NWU. All prospective and registered students should familiarize themselves with the policies, rules, and processes outlined in this document.

General Academic Rules
A-Rules
MS Word Postgraduate Template
Research Tools (Atlas ti,SPSS)
Research tools like ATLAS ti. are used for data analysis and enables researchers to make better decisions with data.
Writing Lab
The Writing Laboratory offers a service to all students to assist them in the writing of assignments. By means of practical training by trained consultants students master writing skills quickly and effectively.
Passwords for databases and eJournals
NWU Style guide

Writefull Add-in for Word
- This link opens in a new window
Download the plug-in for Word to get language feedback, automatically paraphrase text, and auto-generate your title.
Writefull Cite
- This link opens in a new window
Writefull Cite uses an AI model that evaluates the meaning of all sentences in a text and assesses for each whether it presents the non-general knowledge that a reference should support.
Writefull Revise
- This link opens in a new window
Use Writefull Revise to quickly proofread your text and get language corrections from the best AI.

Databases

WorldCat Discovery Search
WorldCat Discovery lets you find everything you need with one simple search interface. It's a way for you to locate books, articles, journals, videos, and other items of interest in your library or other libraries.
How to search for textbooks
Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies preprint, repositories, universities, and other scholarly organisations. 
Use this search box to see the NWU full text link next to the search results:
African Journals Sabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform.
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost EBSCOhost databases are the most used premium online information resources for thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users. 
- This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight Journals Contains over 180 titles in the fields of management information science and engineering.
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- This link opens in a new window
PressReader
- This link opens in a new window
PressReader provides access to newspapers and magazines, including the Sunday Times, The Citizen, Good Housekeeping, Destiny, finweek, Huisgenoot, Sowetan, Elle, Mail & Guardian, and Cosmopolitan.
You can access PressReader via your computer or mobile app.
How to log on:
- Always use the PressReader link on the Library web page. It has a built-in proxy address that will recognise you as a registered student/staff member.
- First-time users must authenticate via their computer before they use the mobile app. After that, you can read newspapers and magazines via the PressReader App on your phone if that is your preference.
- PressReader offers offsite access to the platform. That means you can use PressReader after leaving the University premises for seven days via the App. After seven days, you need to re-authenticate via your computer from the library page (authentication via your computer from the Library web page will also work off-campus). If you read PressReader via your computer, using the PressReader link on the Library web page is unnecessary to re-authenticate.