Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NWU Law House Style Referencing Guide

Based on the NWU Faculty of Law House Style.

Books

Books

EXAMPLE

Footnote

1 Grové and Otto Basic Principles of Consumer Credit Law 32.

Bibliography (under the heading "Literature")
Grové NJ and Otto JM Basic Principles of Consumer Credit Law 2nd ed (Juta Cape Town 2002)

(a) With books, where more than one place of publication is mentioned, the first place name appears in the bibliography.

(b) In the case of a co-authored or co-edited book with more than one author, a maximum of three authors’ names are listed.

EXAMPLE

Footnote
1 Strydom, Le Roux and Dupper Essential Social Security Law 15.

Bibliography (under the heading "Literature")
Strydom EML, Le Roux PA and Dupper OC Essential Social Security Law 2nd ed (Juta Cape Town 2006)

(c) In the case of a co-authored or co-edited book with more than three authors, only provide the name of the first author or editor followed by et al (in italics).

EXAMPLE

Footnote
1 Botha et al Constitutional Law in South Africa 156-157.

Bibliography (under the heading "Literature")
Botha L et al (eds) Constitutional Law in South Africa 3rd ed (Butterworths Durban 2002)

(d) Where a book has been republished under the name of an author other than the original author, the author(s) of the new edition must be cited with recognition of the original author’s name in the title.

EXAMPLE

Footnote
1 Badenhorst, Mostert and Pienaar Silberberg and Schoeman’s The Law of Property 6-10.

Bibliography (under the heading "Literature")
Badenhorst P, Mostert H and Pienaar J Silberberg and Schoeman’s The Law of Property 5th ed (LexisNexis Durban 2006)

(e) In the bibliography a book’s edition number should be provided directly after the title of the book. A first edition is not mentioned.

EXAMPLE

Bibliography (under the heading "Literature")
Grogan J Workplace Law 8th ed (Juta Cape Town 2005)

(f) Where more than one edition of the same book were used, the footnotes and bibliography should in all instances clearly indicate the edition number.

EXAMPLE

Footnote
1 Van der Walt and Pienaar Introduction to Property Law 2nd ed 124-129.
2 Van der Walt and Pienaar Introduction to Property Law 5th ed 12-13.

Bibliography (under the heading "Literature")
Van der Walt AJ and Pienaar GJ Introduction to Property Law 2nd ed (Juta Cape Town 2001)
Van der Walt AJ and Pienaar GJ Introduction to Property Law 5th ed (Juta Cape Town 2006)